Easy Homemade Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
This is a fool-proof pie crust!! I logged onto my account, just to give this review. I was making a chicken pot pie for the first time, for dinner tonight and because of the ease on how to make this pie crust, I figured to give this a shot. I started w/the food processor but found that it was too small for the job. I had to cut the butter into the flour mixture manually. Then, when it was coarse, I transferred it back to the food processor. Big mistake! It made the dough a very gummy & doughy consistency!! I still finished it, as I needed crusts for the chicken pot pie. However, I was prepared for this to come out to be one of the worst pie crusts in history (not the recipe's fault). I had trouble shaping it, rolling it out (this is my first try at making a pie crust from scratch) and pre-baking it. End result=the flakiest pie crust. EVER! Hubby and in-laws were dishing out compliments left and right about the crust! Thank you, Chef John, for this no-fail recipe. One call out: I didn't anticipate for the pie to shrink a bit, but this is a small, very minor flaw, and can easily be my own fault.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Every pie crust I've ever made has always turned out only so-so, especially because I won't use shortening. Well, after making this for Chef John's Pumpkin Pie and Old Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie, I now know this is my new pie crust recipe! I followed this recipe exact, the only thing I would like to figure out is what timing and temperature is good for it if I'm pre-baking them? Thank you Chef John for another great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by micsulli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
really good! flaky and chewy, made my pumpkin pie great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Jensen
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
This was my first attempt at making a homemade pie crust. To my amazement, it turned out great and tasted very good! I did have to add more ice water than the recipe called for. Not sure why and don't really know how many additional tablespoons I added. I just kept adding until the dough was workable enough to form into a ball.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
This works perfectly. I made two pies for the first time for thanksgiving. I used this recipe for the crust and it worked amazingly well. It tasted like a professional crust. It works very well even if you dont have a processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I was in the mood for a quiche and had everything on hand except shortening so I found this all-butter recipe and I'm actually going to start making this one instead of my regular shortening recipe from now on. I had to leave out the apple cider since I didn't have any and I didn't miss it. It was perfect. Very flaky and buttery. Seemed way more organic than my other recipe. Even the leftovers were still flaky and not soggy. I will add the cider next time, just out of curiosity, but even without it, we loved this crust. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Anderson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dale, Indiana, USA
Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Work great for me. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bella Vista, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Fantastic recipe and be sure to watch the video, "How To Make Pie Dough" by Chef John. Everything will become clear...make sue to follow it exactly. Weigh the flour if you have a scale...12 oz. As always be sure to read the reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Excellent crust!! So easy to handle and comes out beautifully! I just made a cherry pie and a pumpkin pie. I'll never by the 'ready mades' again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Very flaky and easy crust EXCEPT... I would bake the bottom crust alone for about 5-10 minutes before adding the filling. It was incredibly soggy. But the top was amazing, and so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Olivia Demkowicz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pie Crust

This crust is so easy, you don’t even need a mixing bowl!

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States