Easy Homemade Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
This was easy to put together without a food processor . Crumbled a bit when I rolled out but could be my in experience with pie dough. Will use this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Purple

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I have been a professional cook for 16+ years. I just used this recipe, it's flaky, delicious, and easy to work with. This stuff rolls out easier than any pie crust I have worked with. This stuff will be appearing at my place of employment soon. Thanks for sharing it Chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nick

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Pentwater, Michigan, USA
Living In: Scottville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I have made pie crusts using a food processor for years. I decided to try this recipe because it uses butter instead of shortening. It was a crumbly mess.I ended up throwing it away and starting over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Falconer, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Yes, you must try this. It is the most tender, flakiest pic crust you and make and easy too. Remember to handle the crust lightly after taking it our of the food processor. My family will not let me use any other recipe for pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Be sure to use a standard sized food processor, I used a smaller size and faced some difficulty, otherwise it came out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Harper M.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
INCREDIBLE! I can't say enough good things about this recipe. It is the flakiest pie crust I have ever made. It not only is delicious, it is so easy to work with. I watched the video first, which is an added plus. It was so easy to make the dough but the way it handled after refrigeration was outstanding. After cleaning my food processor, I wished I had made extra dough to freeze. Next time I will! Thank you Chef John for another INCREDIBLE recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
having never made a pie crust before, i was a little worried about how it would turn out. but this was easy & delicious! i did not have unsalted butter so just used regular and as i was using the dough to make a turkey pot pie, i went ahead and added the salt too. yummmmm yummmm! thank you chef john! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dixon, California, USA
Living In: Würzburg, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
This is by far the best pie crust for chicken pot pie that I have yet to try! I have never in my life been a pie baker until recently. We bought a Showtime Rotisserie (which I very highly recommend!!) and have been looooving the chickens we make now. With one exception... the left over meat. Since no one in our family is really big on sandwiches, the leftovers were going to the dogs. Until I thought... lets try a chicken pot pie. Since then I have been mastering the art of pie crust making! I have tried several from this site!! None have come close the the ease and yumminess of this recipe! It was simply perfect. Tasty and very easy to roll and bake! Thanks again Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I used this crust for this (carmel) apple pie recipe: Allrecipes' Apple Pie By Grandma Ople and it turned out to be the very best pie I've ever made and ever eaten, ever! Delicious. Perfect!! It was so good I made all my friends eat it too and they were pretty darn impressed with my culinary skills :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Finally after more than thirty years, I can make a flaky pie crust. This is so simple I, at first, didn't believe it would turn out. I have made shortening crusts before that turned out awful. This I have now made four times and it works every time. I made pasties yesterday that were awesome. No changes to this recipe. Don't fool with a sure thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by glow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sault Sainte Marie, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pie Crust

This crust is so easy, you don’t even need a mixing bowl!

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States