Easy Homemade Pastrami Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Did not try it...So will defer. BUT IMHO To be honest you really need to smoke Corn Beef to have any chance of "real" pastrami.... A huge huge huge recipe tip and was missing per my reading... INTERNAL TEMP, you must get meat to 190-200 degrees. Completely changes corn beef texture to the proper, somewhat crumbly texture of pastrami. I am sure this recipe tastes fine, but might as well just cook the corn beef via boiling then heat it up, slap on melted cheese and cole slaw would taste just as fabulous.....IMO.. Also wrapping meat up and letting sit in your fridge 24 hours to 3 days to blend flavors. IS OMG important!! I did not believe it till recently did my 3rd pastrami in 3 years. Flavor on day 2, heated up on a sandwich was 25% more smokey pastrami flavor than when first taking off the green egg smoker...... Ya gotta smoke it to make real pastrami, bottom line.....Otherwise I would recommend save time and make wonderful Corn Beef sandwiches after boiling or using your recipe... Guess liquid smoke could work somewhat.... (???) Vintage Man
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nanby
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
We followed the recipe to the letter. This is a very admirable attempt to create one of my favorite deli meats. And that's just what "Chef John" said, that it was a substitute not exactly. I find that to be true. The spice blend is good yet a tad overly peppery. With that said, the meat (inside) lacked some flavor that Pastrami usually has. I'm sure that would have to do with brining. So my conclusion would be... I will probably brine a brisket for a few days and then use this spice blend minus a bit of the pepper (not much though.) I might try smoking the meat as well. I know hard work was put into this. Thank-You
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nanby

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Not only was this good, but probably the best pastrami sandwich I've had since moving to California! I had a 2.5 pound corned beef that I cooked for about 4 1/2 hours. I also didn't have smoked paprika or white pepper. I didn't miss it and if you don't have it, I wouldn't go out to buy it just for this recipe. I just increased the coriander and black pepper a bit. I made some homemade Russian dressing, and made the typical pastrami sandwich on rye with Swiss cheese and sauerkraut. Delicious! I can't wait for the leftovers tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
I LOVE pastrami. Thank you for a quick way to achieve the great taste! We all like to "adjust" to our tastes, that's what cooking is all about. But if you have never tried the process of making pastrami, try this one. It's a winner. Thank you Chef John for your wonderful recipes - I'm a FAN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
After spending $45 for a brisket and $10 for spices all I ended up with was a spicey beef roast. The roast didn't taste bad but it certainly wasn't pastrami, nothing even close.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
I made this yesterday and it turned out great. I had a 2.5 lb brisket, soaked it in the brine 8 hrs, cooked it for 3 1/2 hrs then wrapped it tightly in foil and refrigerated immediately. I let it set in the fridge overnight to "rest" before I sliced it. Wasn't dry at all and sure beats paying $11.99 lb. at the store! Everyone loves it and it is so fragrant! http://www.juiceblendz.com/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
What a wonderful recipe and totally worth it! I shaved mine (I borrowed a slicer from my cousin the caterer) and made sandwiches with Provolone in pita pockets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
this is wonderful, I have a large amount of people from work that had it and thought that I had purchased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Belle Milks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by EGrshm
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
I just cooked this recipe for the third time and I will cook it again soon! Changes: 3 cloves of garlic and shorter cooking time. I prefer strong a strong garlic taste and I found that cooking it for about 5-5.5 hours - instead of 6 - resulted in a more tender, rare pastrami. 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
I have made this recipe for a few years. When ever I can find corned beef on sale I buy two. My only advise to others is to make at least two of these at a time because the finished product goes away much to fast and its just as easy to make two or three at a time as it is to only make one. The finished pastrami freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Morris

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Easy Homemade Pastrami

See how to make easy, deli-style pastrami at home!

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States