Easy Haupia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Since leaving my childhood home 20 years ago, I have frequently yearned for my favorite desert, haupia. When visiting family in Hawai'i, I am on a constant search for the wiggly, creamy goodness found in this coconut treat. When I decided to do a mini Hawaiian feast last night, I knew I had to include haupia...I found this recipe, tried it out and OMG I'm so thrilled! The flavor is spot on, the texture perfect. I'm in heaven! BTW, the quality of the coconut milk you use makes all the difference. If it doesn't taste awesome out of the can, it's not going to taste good in haupia. I've tried no less than 10-15 different brands and have only found one that I like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
People loved this, and ate half the pan before I could set it out for the luau for my friend's birthday. Definitely like the stuff I've had in Hawai'i.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Tasted just like the real thing. Love, love, loved the recipe and was surprised by how easy it was to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Persis
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
This recipe was very easy to make and so tasty! I served the Haupia on a no-bake Amaretti cookie crust with roasted coconut flakes and fresh strawberries. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Persis

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
First off, I'd like to say ALOHA to Ms Hawaiian Deelit. Hey, I used to live in Kingsland, GA too! Now the other day, bf and I got together and made a mini-feast of lau lau, limu poke, lomi salmon, and of course poi. At the end, even though we were stuffed.. we both felt something was missing but couldn't quite figure it out. Then we realized--HAUPIA!! To make up for that, I searched for recipes online and decided on this one because there was salt in it (salt makes desserts have depth and not taste like you're eating a sugar cube). The only tweak I made to the recipe was that I used half white sugar and half coconut palm sugar. It got thick really fast when I was making it, so I thought I did something wrong, but I just kept mixing it over low heat until it was completely smooth. Let it chill for a couple hours and voila--homemade haupia. I thought this was really delicious and rich and creamy--just like tutu used to make. BUT the bf said that while the flavor was good, it wasn't 'gelatinous' enough for him. I guess he likes the mass-produced-from-envelope style in the restaurants better. To each his own, but I love it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yokohama, Kanagawa, Japan
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Maralin
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
I love this recipe. It's new to me, so I don't know how "authentic" it is, but I found it addictive. I've been making it every week since I tried it. I gave only 4 stars because it needed much more coconut flavor. I feel like adding shredded coconut, but maybe using sweetened milk, as was suggested would work better. I will definitely make this again, it's a great base for a dessert, if nothing else. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maralin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA
Photo by Soifua
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
this was very easy, I scaled the recipe down to serve 18 so I could just us a can of coconut milk. I put it in an 8x8 pan and it was very thin. Growing up I remember eating haupia like a jello jiggler so this was how I remember eating it. Next time I'll double the recipe and stick it in an 8x8 so it'd be thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soifua

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kahuku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
i thought this was pretty close to the haupia you get in hawaii (i lived there for a few years so i wouldn't claim "local" knowledge but i've had it plenty before). i did have trouble getting it to set up but it's possible the pan i used made it too thick. didn't stop me or the kids from scooping it out with spoons and killing it in record time. next time i'll try a bigger pan and see if that helps. great way to use up that can of coconut milk when a recipe calls for a measly 1/2 cup :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by easycookinmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Placerville, California, USA
Living In: Palmdale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I stayed with friends in Hawaii recently and got to try this amazing dessert!! I live in Colorado so finding good coconut milk is impossible! So instead i added coconut extract to soy milk. The flavor was really good, but it didnt't quit set up like it should. It was more like a pudding but still delish! It also took about 3 times longer to thicken up than the recipe says. But its a deliciuous healthy dessert! Colorado Haupia!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Used arrowroot instead of cornstarch and used half coconut sugar and half white sugar for the white sugar. It was yummy. will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middle River, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Park Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Apple Crisp

Apple crisp made with white cake mix, sugar, cinnamon and butter.

Easy Baklava

See how to make sweet and easy baklava.

Easy Homemade Chocolate Sauce

See how to make delicious homemade chocolate sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States