Easy Haupia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2009
The texture was like glue. I have had haupia in Hawaii and this is nothing like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bella

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA
Photo by Soifua
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
this was very easy, I scaled the recipe down to serve 18 so I could just us a can of coconut milk. I put it in an 8x8 pan and it was very thin. Growing up I remember eating haupia like a jello jiggler so this was how I remember eating it. Next time I'll double the recipe and stick it in an 8x8 so it'd be thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soifua

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kahuku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
First off, I'd like to say ALOHA to Ms Hawaiian Deelit. Hey, I used to live in Kingsland, GA too! Now the other day, bf and I got together and made a mini-feast of lau lau, limu poke, lomi salmon, and of course poi. At the end, even though we were stuffed.. we both felt something was missing but couldn't quite figure it out. Then we realized--HAUPIA!! To make up for that, I searched for recipes online and decided on this one because there was salt in it (salt makes desserts have depth and not taste like you're eating a sugar cube). The only tweak I made to the recipe was that I used half white sugar and half coconut palm sugar. It got thick really fast when I was making it, so I thought I did something wrong, but I just kept mixing it over low heat until it was completely smooth. Let it chill for a couple hours and voila--homemade haupia. I thought this was really delicious and rich and creamy--just like tutu used to make. BUT the bf said that while the flavor was good, it wasn't 'gelatinous' enough for him. I guess he likes the mass-produced-from-envelope style in the restaurants better. To each his own, but I love it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yokohama, Kanagawa, Japan
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KitchenWitch
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
Well... this wasn't too bad. The mixture never simmered, but it did thicken a lot. We all thought it tasted too much of the cornstarch, too 'chalky'. My dad laughed :( But I ate quite a few pieces just to really test it out. I think it needs more sugar, or to use sweetened coconut milk instead of plain. Also, a 13x9 inch pan is too big, the cubes were very very thin... meh *shrug*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eagle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Maralin
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
I love this recipe. It's new to me, so I don't know how "authentic" it is, but I found it addictive. I've been making it every week since I tried it. I gave only 4 stars because it needed much more coconut flavor. I feel like adding shredded coconut, but maybe using sweetened milk, as was suggested would work better. I will definitely make this again, it's a great base for a dessert, if nothing else. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maralin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
This is my longest review ever... Sorry! I've never had haupia but I had a can of coconut milk in the pantry and this looked like a simple recipe. Upon reading the previous comments, I decided to change up the order just a little. To get a good texture, instead of mixing all of the ingredients in the pot, I separated out 1/2 cup of room-temp coconut milk and whisked in the cornstarch until it was dissolved. In the pot I put the rest of the coconut milk, sugar, and salt and heated it up until the salt and sugar were dissolved, then stirred in the cornstarch mixture. I cooked it at a higher temp (med to med-high) because nothing happened at a low temp (maybe because pot is heavier or because I have a glass cooktop?) I made sure to keep stirring it the whole time so it wouldn't burn, and let it cook until it was pretty thick, to avoid the raw-cornstarch flavor one reviewer mentioned. I sprayed a glass baking dish very lightly with cooking spray (possibly unnecessary) and poured in the mixture. Off to the fridge it went and jsut now I flipped it onto a seving dish. It sliced it into squares easily and had a great taste. It could be sweeter and/or more coconutty, for more of a desserty feel, but it is great and I will be taking it to dinner this evening at the house of a friend whose son is allergic to milk and gluten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Vernon, Washington, USA
Living In: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Since leaving my childhood home 20 years ago, I have frequently yearned for my favorite desert, haupia. When visiting family in Hawai'i, I am on a constant search for the wiggly, creamy goodness found in this coconut treat. When I decided to do a mini Hawaiian feast last night, I knew I had to include haupia...I found this recipe, tried it out and OMG I'm so thrilled! The flavor is spot on, the texture perfect. I'm in heaven! BTW, the quality of the coconut milk you use makes all the difference. If it doesn't taste awesome out of the can, it's not going to taste good in haupia. I've tried no less than 10-15 different brands and have only found one that I like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
i thought this was pretty close to the haupia you get in hawaii (i lived there for a few years so i wouldn't claim "local" knowledge but i've had it plenty before). i did have trouble getting it to set up but it's possible the pan i used made it too thick. didn't stop me or the kids from scooping it out with spoons and killing it in record time. next time i'll try a bigger pan and see if that helps. great way to use up that can of coconut milk when a recipe calls for a measly 1/2 cup :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by easycookinmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Placerville, California, USA
Living In: Palmdale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
People loved this, and ate half the pan before I could set it out for the luau for my friend's birthday. Definitely like the stuff I've had in Hawai'i.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
I cooked this beyond the 5 minutes because it was not getting thick enough. I cooked aprox 9 minutes. I sprinkled coconut and put it in the fridge to get hard. It never got hard. I have no clue what I did wrong, especially considering I cooked it even longer than reccomended. I'm very disapointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Baklava

See how to make sweet and easy baklava.

Easy Apple Crisp

Apple crisp made with white cake mix, sugar, cinnamon and butter.

Easy Homemade Chocolate Sauce

See how to make delicious homemade chocolate sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States