Easy Hamantaschen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Fantastic! I've never had Hamantaschen before, but I found these delightful. I replaced the oil with melted butter. I'm not sure how large these are supposed to be, but I made about 3x as many as the recipe was supposed to yield by using a 3 inch diameter cookie cutter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA
Living In: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
This was one of the easiest, tastiest cookie recipes I have used. I followed the recipe nearly to the letter, though I used only 5 cups of flour (plus more for rolling) and I chilled the dough for 2 hours, I think the chilling is a must, considering it needs to be rolled so thin. I also had to cook them about 15 minutes, but it all depends on your oven. What a great recipe though, I'll be making these for years to come! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
Excellent and easy recipe. I didn't chill the dough because my 2 year old was helping, and well...her patience level isn't very high. :) Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ZEROKEY
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
Great recipe. Tips: use wax paper to roll it out, it can be a little sticky, but that's ok. I made my cookies too big and even though I keep adjusting after each batch I would of liked smaller cookies, so I suggest smaller cookies as they will swell a lot in the oven. Don't worry about putting them too close together on the cookie sheet because after you pinch them into eyes they have plenty of room next to each other. Make the most of your first rolling out because each subsequent rolling out will produce more inferior cookies than the last.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZEROKEY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
No mixer needed for this recipe!!! I substituted white whole wheat flour for the all-purpose flour, added flour gradually. First I used a whisk, then a rubber scraper, and finally just my hand to get the last bit of flour mixed in. I rolled out the dough between two sheets of waxed paper without chilling it, and used an inverted drinking glass to cut the dough into circles. One tsp. of preserves was plenty. Make sure to pinch the sides closed very well so they don't flop open. I baked on parchment paper, for about 15 minutes. Got about 50 hamantaschen. they turned out great. Now I would like an easy recipe for the poppy seed filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TFRach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
These turned out wonderful. I did not refrigerate the dough first and it all held together well. My children are picky and these went well. I'm going to try using brownie mix as the filling in my next batch (like in another recipe, Hamentashen w/ brownie filling, from this site). We liked the texture and taste of this batter, so I'm going to play with fillings. I used blueberry for some and raspberry for some so far. Thank you this is an easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Schwartzman Lyon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Freehold, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Paw Paw, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
This is an excellent recipe. I didn't have organge juice and added 1 1/2 tsp. orange extract, but the orange juice would have been better as I needed a little more liquid. Also, 4 cups of flour was perfect, 5 1/2 would have been too much. I used both rasberry jam and plum/prune butter and baked for 15 minutes which was perfect. I will definately make this recipe again and next time I may take some of the dough and shape them into walnut size balls, put an indentation in this middle and fill with jam. Thank you for this versatile recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
A bit crumbly and it seperated at the pinches when I baked. Next time I will chill before working with it. Tasted yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Refrigerating the dough made ALL the difference. I've often had trouble with roll out dough, but this was very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
very easy and tasty. I chilled for about 4 hours before use and that was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Baklava

See how to make sweet and easy baklava.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States