Easy Hamantaschen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
My friends and I decided to make these for purim. I didn't have a chance to read reviewer comments, so we made it exactly as directed in the recipe. The dough we ended up with was way too sticky to roll out. We had to add a lot more flour to deal with that. This effected the flavor of the dough... it was bland. They also took forever to bake in the oven- I'm not sure if that was because of the extra flour or what. They weren't horrible- they were OK. Which is why I still gave the recipe 3 stars. But instead of making changes to the recipe, I think I'll just find another, better one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Tried this recipe twice. The first time I used 2-1/2 cups of flour and let the dough sit overnight. The result was a sticky unusable mess. The second time I used 3-1/2 cups of flour and did not let the dough sit. The result was a sticky unusable mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
How to make this perfect: as another reviewer suggested, replace 1/2 c of oil with a stick of butter and whip with sugar before adding eggs. I also added a tsp of orange zest, used 4 1/2 c flour mixed with the baking powder, and held aside the 5th cup of flour to add as needed. I ended up using about 5 c total. Mix one egg with a Tbsp of milk, and using finger, moisten the outer edges of each circle before filling and pinching. I had no leaking casualties at all. I used to make these with my mother when I was little, and she was smiling from Heaven when I made this recipe. It is absolutely perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ngood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Great! For those having issues with dough texture due to the oil, substitute butter for the oil and milk for the OJ. The oil and OJ are used to make the cookies pareve (meaning they contain no meat or dairy and can therefore be consumed with other meat and/or dairy foods according to Jewish law.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shell Bell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
These were great, but I have a couple of recommendations that I plan to use next time I make them. They puff up quite a bit, so I suggest either making them a bit thinner or putting in about 1 tsp (instead of two) of fruit preserves, to prevent any running. It also was a bit bland, so I would add a bit of orange or lemon zest next time to bring out a different flavor. I also substituted margarine for 1/4 cup of the oil to give it a bit more body, and my dough rolled out beautifully after refrigerating overnight. I also had to bake about 20 minutes, but that just may be my oven. I want to use this recipe as another cookie base and can't wait to experiment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
I also found the dough bland and hard to work with, but the latter may be my relative lack of experience with baking in general. Putting more than a teaspoon of jam is definitely a mistake and as another reviewer noted, jam is preferable to jelly as jelly will run. I would even go so far as to say that you want confiture or very thick jam for this. As evidenced by the photos, it isn't easy to make these cookies look good either. I know it's possible though, so I'm guessing experience counts. I will try a different recipe next time though as the dough really is bland. Had fun making and eating them with the kids nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alfia
Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
they came out great! everybody loved them! they taste like the real thing. I freezed half of the dough wrapped very well in saran wrap and the hamantaschen also came out great. I thawed the dough overnight in the fridge, but when I started to roll it it cracked a little bit. I let it sit in the counter for 15 minutes to get closer to room temperature and then it rolled out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Not a fan of the dough. It was too hard
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
They came out tasting great. I did add the zest of one orange although I do not know how much that affected the final result. The biggest problem I had was that the sides of the cookie opened up while in the oven. Make sure that you pinch the corners well, and do not overload with preserves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Fantastic! I've never had Hamantaschen before, but I found these delightful. I replaced the oil with melted butter. I'm not sure how large these are supposed to be, but I made about 3x as many as the recipe was supposed to yield by using a 3 inch diameter cookie cutter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA
Living In: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Baklava

See how to make sweet and easy baklava.

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States