Easy Ham and Swiss Pie Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
This is pretty good, and pretty easy, but I have to agree with the comments that there is a bit too little liquid. I adjusted this to make it more like a quiche because I didn't have all the meat and cheese called for--just had crumbled bacon and American Cheese, so I wouldn't have had enough to do this as written with the mix poured on top. However, having said that, I think it would work well with sliced cooked bacon lining the dish as well--I might try that next time, as that is something I'm more likely to have in the house as opposed to all those meats and cheeses. I added another egg and about a 1/2 cup water, then mixed everything together. I did add frozen chopped spinach to the mixture and it baked up well--needed about 10 extra minutes to cook totally. It was eaten at a breakfast I brought it to, but it did take longer to disappear than the other casserole I brought. To be fair, we did have a lot of other food and maybe I scared people with the spinach. ;) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
A little dry but great flavor- i added tomatoes and mushrooms and had to also add an egg with an extra 1/2 c. of "baking mix" to make enough mixture to cover the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
I add at least 1 cup whipping cream for richness and moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This is the best egg-bake I have ever made! It was so light and fluffy when it came out of the oven! The only thing I changed was I added 2 more cups of crushed corn flakes, with 3/4 cup melted butter, it just gave it a little more crunch on top!! It was a huge hit with my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
steve likes, kinda dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
Definitely missing a liquid ingredient--egg/bisquick mix doesn't pour; it's too thick so just sits on top of the other ingredients, and yes, you do need a smaller pan if you want the unexpected biscuit topping to cover all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
We have updated the cook time in this recipe to 25 minutes, as requested by the submitter. This should help! - The Staff@Allrecipes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
There was a mistake with this recipe. It should've read Bake for 25 to 30 minutes. This was submitted correctly, so it was NOT the fault of mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
I tried this and thought it was too dry. I wonder if one of the liquid ingredients was left out. It also cooked in about 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
I had cut the recipe down to fit a 10x10 square pan. I found it only took 25 minutes to bake then. This tasted drier then I expected it to be, so first I put catsup on to eat it, didn't like that, so used maple syrup and that made it better. I would not make it again. Way too much fat in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ramona Ziegler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States