Easy Ham and Swiss Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Made as indicated and it was quite dry. Baked for 5 minutes less than advised and still why too dry. Add another can of soup next time. Has great potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Wish I would have saved my leftover ham for sandwiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Hooper Danner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crown Point, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
No cream of mushroom soup on hand, instead I used a can of cream of chicken. I added some fresh ground pepper to the soup mix. Not a bad recipe, very simple and fast to make. I would make this again but I think I'd play with the recipe a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Great recipe! Ugh, I know I hate it when people rate recipes when they changed things, but I'm caving :) This recipe whips up really fast, and easy. I had leftover egg noddles from beef stroganoff the night before (somehow I always make too many noodles). I made a few substitutions for what I had on hand - milk for the white wine, cheddar for the swiss, and turkey ham for the ham. It came out sooooo good. I loved how the stuffing mix was a salty crunch, and the noodles were creamy. If you don't like salt, then make sure to use low sodium everything - ham, cream of mushroom, cheese, and stuffing all are typically pretty salty stuff. The only thing I would work on whem making again, is that it came out, well, soupy. Maybe less water, or let it bake longer? Despite the sloppy-ness of it, I am more than excited to eat it for leftovers today and tomorrow at work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissBadger

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I added a 1/2 cup of sour cream instead of wine and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JustTryingGoodOnes
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
This was easy and delicious. Was a tad salty for me but that is easily taken care of, as others have suggested next time will add peas or your favorite veggie, or as Mallory suggests asparagus would be a very nice match.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
I gave it 5/5. Quick and easy to make. Even though a little dry (maybe over cooking?), it tasted great and used up some of the left over Christmas ham. Next time maybe I will cover with foil to keep some moisture in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cami

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Tastes great and a true "comfort food" Rated 4 instead of 5 beause I made adjustments based on what I had in the house. 1st - I precooked the noodles to cut on time while I sauted onions and reheated the cubed ham in a skillet (salt pepper etc). 2nd - added frozen peas to give some nutrition. 3rd - used mont. jack cheese instead of swiss, thats all I had. 4th - Used italian bread crumbs, again all I had. Skipped the wine and milk, didn't need it. Baked at 350 for 20 min to let flavors blend. YUMM!! A great meal with basic ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kwd1017

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
Easy to make. I omitted white wine since I had none on hand, added seasoning salt, sauteed onion and some frozen peas. Delish! I have also made this with canned ham and it worked extremely well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gravylegs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Sorry, I thought this was rather dry. After baking and tasting, I put it in a large bowl and added another can of soup, more wine and 1/2 cup of chicken broth. Put it back in the oven for another 20 min to heat through. I think this would be better with chicken instead of ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hubbard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States