Easy Ham and Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
This recipe sounded good so I went to the pantry to see what kind of "cream of" soup I had. :( None. So I decided to concoct my own version of ham and noodles! I made a basic white sauce (butter, flour, milk) to which I added about 1-1/2 t. Dijon mustard and 2 slices of American cheese (in pieces), some salt and pepper and a dash or two of Worcestershire sauce. While boiling about 2 c. of noodles, I chopped up the leftover ham into little cubes and tossed into the white sauce. After draining the noodles, I poured the ham and sauce over them. Mixed well. Took handful of oyster crackers and put them into a plastic ziplock bag and rolled over with a can to crush. In small frying pan, I melted butter and mixed in crackers. I browned them and after scooping up a bowl of the ham and noodles, I sprinkled the crackers on top. I found that the browned cracker crumbs added a nutty flavor. It was great!! I'm on my way to get another bowlful...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dale

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
If you saute some onions and garlic in butter (or margarine or low trans spread), then add to this mixture, it greatly improves the flavor. I also top with crushed potato chips before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2002
Easy to make, it tastes like you'd expect. You won't be disappointed by the recipe, but neither will you be wowed. Think tuna noodle casserole with ham and cheese. I'll serve it again but not regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2002
Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2002
Delicious and a good way to use leftover ham. And for a dish with noodles, it reheats suprisingly well in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2002
I had leftover ham from Easter Dinner and came across this delicious recipe today. I am a cheese freak, so I added extra sharp chedder cheese and some Dijon Mustard(2 Tbs). Since this was my first time making this particular dish, I have no idea if the added mustard was a plus or a minus ... All I know is this dish was fabulous and I will certainly be making it again, perhaps next time without the Dijon, to see what the difference is like. Thanks for a great dish. Now why didn't I think of this recipe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2002
The sauce barely covered the amount of noodles that was required, I added a little garlic per previous reviews and it still turned out horrible. In fact, the only thing I could taste was the garlic, the rest had no taste at all. My daughter of 5 years somehow managed to eat her serving but the rest of us passed after the first bite. This is my first allrecipes failure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2002
Some spices of garlic powder and pepper need to be added for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2002
This recipe was ok but it tastes like about a dozen other recipes I have. Good way to use up leftover ham and so easy to prepare. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2002
This was simple to make and went together very easily. It's what I call a comfort food. Definitely not something to serve to guests, but delicious for hubby and me!! I used 98% fat free cream of chicken soup and 2% sharp cheddar cheese, along with 2% milk and this tasted wonderful. My husband had no idea he was eating low fat, you can't tell the difference! I also used canadian bacon instead of ham and added some cayenne and garlic powder to spice it up a bit. I also found that mixing all the ingredients in a pan on top of the stove for a few minutes helps with the cheese melting, and reduces the time in the oven to about 15 minutes. I think the less time spent in the oven, the creamier the dish will be. Just a thought!! In all, an excellent meal we will have again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caliboo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Simple Ham and Squash Spaghetti

See how to make creamy smoked ham and butternut squash spaghetti.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States