Easy Ham and Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
I made noodles from scratch, used cream of chicken (my kids hate mushroom), sharp cheddar, skim milk, and leftover ham. Delicious. Will definitely be making this again & experimenting with the recipe! NOTE: For those of you expressing some frustration and/or confusion, the half can of milk doesn't mean CANNED milk. It means to fill the soup can halfway with milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
I thought this tasted good. Its a classic basic casserole. I doubled it because I didn't see any reason in only making 4 servings. I added 1 cup of frozen defrosted peas and carrots and a crushed butter cracker topping. The topping worked well on it. I baked it for only fifteen minutes. I didn't want it drying out or the topping, I put on it, to brown too much. It reminded me of a ham version of tuna noodle casserole. I worked in the yard most of the day and was looking for a quick and filling casserole like recipe. This worked well. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Like many of the other reviewers, I adapted this recipe with extra ingredients. Instead of canned cream soup (they all have MSG) I made my own cream soup from the Cream Soup Base recipe on this site (although I modified that too and used heavy cream and water to subsitute for the milk). I sauteed onion, garlic and parsley and added it to the Cream Soup Base, along with real bacon pieces and shredded sharp cheddar cheese. I used a lot more noodles. After mixing my noodles and Cream Soup, I also added peas and mushrooms. I poured it into casserole dishes, sprinkled the top with more shredded sharp cheddar and some italian herb bread crumbs and baked for about 20 minutes. My 74-year old mother-in-law (an amazing cook) loved it and asked to take home the leftovers. I consider that a HUGE sucess! In fact, I forgot to salt my noodles when they were cooking and forgot to add pepper to the Cream Soup while cooking, so my recipe had no added salt or pepper and it had so much flavor, I didn't even miss them. (This coming from someone who salts everything!) Thanks for a great recipe idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coronado, California, USA
Living In: Lead Hill, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
My kids don't like mushrooms so we made it with cream of potato soup. It was EXCELLENT, fast, and inexpensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
I used penne instead of noodles, and shredded cheese, which melted nicely. A nice way to serve some leftover ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fillmore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Wonderful way to use up left over ham. Family loved it even my picky 6 yr old daughter who said "it doesn't look good but it taste good". I also added the sauteed onion and garlic. Thanks for sharing this simple tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brad Andrus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Excellent dish. Used cream of celery and cream of mushroom. Lots of extra cheese. Rigatoni pasta. Hubby went back for seconds and that's all the confirmation I needed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee O'Connor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
A perfect use for our left over Thanksgiving ham! Popular and easy dinner for my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
cover when you bake. Creamy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
My 10 year old niece found this recipe when she was looking for something similar to a recipe they serve at her school. (Yes, she is one of those kids that actually likes school lunch! Weird, I know!) She made this mostly by herself, with my assistance with the stove and the oven. She used cream of chicken soup, and she used torn up cheese slices, because she said that would make it more like the school lunch type. She loved it, ate 2 helpings (and she is tiny!) and insisted on taking the leftovers home with her. Thanks for a recipe that made my niece very happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

How to Cook Ham

See how to prepare a juicy glazed ham.

Pantry Ham and Beans

Creamy Great Northern beans simmer with cooked ham, brown sugar, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States