Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2003
I'm packing 25 bag lunches for a group of flyfishers taking casting lessons from my husband Saturday. He didn't want just sandwiches and chips, but needed hearty fingerfood. I thought of bierrocks, but they are best when warm.These folks will be out on the lake. Then I found these little ham and cheese sandwiches. I decided that they would be less messy if enclosed (like a bierrock). So I went surfing and found Taylor's Piroshki on this site. I used this ham/cheese idea as filling in the Piroshki dough. Wow! They turned out great. I will make some fresh ones Friday night and send them along in the bag lunches. Thanks for a great sandwich idea, Doreen. The first ones I made are in the freezer as we speak. Hopefully they will be as good thawed and reheated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2001
This recipe is always a hit, no matter where I take it! Everybody loves the savory flavors of ham, onions, mustard and swiss on dinner rolls. A number one in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2001
I made this for my daughter's high school basketball team one day when they had back-to-back games late in the afternoon. To say they went over well doesn't even begin to describe the hit this made. They were gone as fast as I could hand them out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2001
I think that these are wonderful, but I used cheddar instead and I also substitute yellow mustard for dijon. These are akways a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
TYPO.......use CHIPPED COOKED HAM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
I read the reviews and couldn't believe that Katie did not like these! One word describing these sandwiches? Fabulous! I use my Black and Decker Handy Chopper to practically puree the onions - they blend in beautifully with the butter sauce this way. (I think that I, like Katie, might not have liked the sauce if it had onion "chunks" mixed in with the other ingredients. As a matter of fact, my husband and I don't even keep onions in the house. We're not onion people!) As for the rolls, I use King's Hawaiian rolls - regular or multigrain. These rolls add a touch of sweetness that everyone enjoys, and they go well with the ingredients. I have made these on several occasions and they have disappeared quickly each time. Try them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
My sister used to make these for all of our family functions, but has since became vegan and couldn't find the detailed recipe. Thanks - they were a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
These are absolutely delicious! Easy to make, and an excellent snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
I actually got this recipe from my mom who received it from a lady at her church and it continues to be passed on from there! These are sooooo goood!! I made these last week and served with 6 can tortilla soup! WOW! However, I had no idea this recipe was also on this site or I would have made these sooner. My version is a TAD different: For 12 hoagie rolls = 1 cup soft butter, 8 TBLS mustard, 6 TBLS finely diced onion, and 1 to 1 1/2 TBLS poppyseeds (no worchestir sauce). Generously spread the butter/mustard mix on the bottom, layer with ham and cheese (we used colby jack & swiss slices) replace top and then spread a small amout on the top of each bun. Bake and enjoy these! I feel bad for the people who tried these and they didn't turn out because these are delicious and everyone I have served them too agrees! A great meal! Thanks Doreen (and mom my's church friend)!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2003
I made these to take to a gathering with friends where soup was the main course and these little sandwiches were the perfect side. They went in a flash! I will definitely make these again. They were quick enough to make after work and before the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 278) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States