Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
You know....these are wonderful! I've made these a few times myself. Few things I do different are that I use sliced deli ham, sliced cheese (I prefer provolone but any cheese will do) and I use the King's Hawaiian bread rolls (really good if you like the sweetness of the bread). I also prefer regular mustard over Dijon but mainly cause it's what's in my fridge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I omitted the onion in the topping, but otherwise followed the recipe. I knew my ham and cheese loving husband would like these, but my kids were fighting him for seconds and thirds. Needless to say, these were very popular, and considering how easy they were, I will be making these on a regular basis. This was a quick, easy way to feed everyone a weekend lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Wow this recipe was great. I made these sandwiches for a super bowl party and they were a huge hit. I used potato rolls and brown sugar ham. After putting down a layer of ham and swiss cheese I added another layer of ham, I also coated the top of the rolls with the leftover butter mixture. The only complaint was I didnt make enough!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Very easy, and very good! I was worried about the bottoms being soggy, but I wrapped them in foil and the bottoms actually were crisp. I did puree my onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I liked these, but they got mixed reviews at our Superbowl party. I had honey dijon mustard in my fridge, so that's what I used. I also didn't have the poppy seeds. I used Hawaiian sweet rolls and sliced swiss in stead of shredded. I thought they were really good, but my hubby (who likes everything) wasn't crazy about them. Four others thought they were good, though. I only give 4 stars b/c of the mixed reviews at our house tonight :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Very good! Very kid friendly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
My mom made these, too, so we've had the recipe in our family for years. I make them for dinner, and my family gobbles the up (even my picky 7 year-old daughter). The best rolls to use are the King's Hawaiian rolls. The sweetness in the rolls is a perfect match for this savory treat! I also chop the ham, but leave the Swiss cheese in slices. I just lay them on top of the chopped ham. I also loosely cover them w/ foil while baking. It helps get everying melted w/o drying out the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverdale, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lilburn, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I was looking for a recipe that was close to the ham & cheese rolls we have every Christmas morning and these came real close. I plan on making these again just reducing the amount of poppy seeds to only 1 tbsp and add more onion. I don't think I put enough onion in the first time around. Also add more mustard. My fiance agrees with me on the adjustments since its his family that makes these and I think they are good just some adjustments needed. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Lake, Indiana, USA
Living In: Ambia, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
These are just wonderful! I sometimes wrap each sandwich in foil and put them on the grill for out door parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
My Mom has a recipe for sandwiches just like this and she also adds sliced onions. They are tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 278) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States