Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
These were good, although with other reviews I was expecting a little more flavor. I made 30 sandwiches, on dinner rolls purchased at Winco and easily had enough butter mixture. There was enough to not only butter the bottom of each roll, but most of the tops too. I can't imagine only making 16 sandwiches with all that butter. I wasn't sparing with the butter mixture either. I finely chopped my onion rather than grating and it tasted just fine - no big chunks of onion as another reviewer had mentioned. I didn't even notice the onion, although I probably would have noticed if it weren't there. Also I used an entire pre-cooked ham and just sliced it thin. Probably at least a couple pounds of meat and they weren't overloaded in the least. All the sandwiches were gone - so that's a good sign, but no one complimented them either. Will keep in mind, but won't go out of my way to make them. It's rather time consuming, albeit easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Escondido, California, USA
Living In: Joseph, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Use less butter but otherwise, my daughter said they could sell these in restaurants!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
I've loved these sandwiches for years. I hosted a baby shower several months ago and they were a huge hit. I usually skip the poppyseeds and have never made them with onions, but I'm sure they would be good that way also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
My mom made these when I was growing up, but she used a different kind of dinner roll. Regardless, they are super tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THumphres

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
These are sooo much better if you use hawaiian sweet rolls, and pour the butter, worcestshire mixture on top of the rolls too before you bake them. Love these sandwiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
Quick and Easy, inexpesive, tasty, and very popular with my guests! I will make this one again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
Awesome! They stayed hot for a good while too! can be an appetizer or served with other sides for a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
I made this recipe for Christmas when all the kid were coming to my house. I didn't have any poppy seeds so I just left them out. This is a great recipe! Everyone loved it including people that don't like onions couldn't even tell the onions was in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
This is a keeper. Everyone raved about them. This will be a go to recipe for parties and pot lucks. SIMPLE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
They get a little mushy...but they are delicious if you can avoid that or handle it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 274) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States