Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
Very Yummy recipe! kids like them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
They were good, but not great. I made all the spread (using maybe 1/3 cup grated onion), but then used 3/4 of it on the 2 doz dinner rolls. They were still pretty greasy and soggy. My guests ate them but there were no rave reviews and I had leftovers. They're okay, but I don't think I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
i made these for my daughter's baby shower. some people arrived early and started eating them cold and saying how good they were. after i heated them the onion was pretty intense but they still all went and i made a lot. i will make these again but will back off the onion by about half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
When I first saw this recipe, Ham and Cheese Sandwich, I thought "oh come on?!" So, I read it and am so glad that I didn't pass this one by plus all the reviews were great, maybe there is something to this. I thought it seemed a little labor intensive making all these little bitty sandwiches, but I read the reviews and really got into it. I first sliced all the rolls (Hawaiian naturally) in one sweep of the knife horizontally, easy enough, then spread the butter spread on the bottoms. I had thin shaved ham and just kind of draped that all over the bottom so it was well covered, then layered sliced Swiss cheese on top of that. Put the top layer on and spread some of the butter spread on top of the rolls. Put a large piece of foil on a cookie sheet, and put into the freezer so as not to smush the butter and rolls and I let it in their for about 15 minutes. Wrapped in up and put it in the freezer. My second package, did exactly the same thing, but decided I would try spreading some of the butter spread on the inside of the tops. This all took less than 10 minutes. This is great and I was all set for company and all I had to do was pop them in the oven. These are fantastic!! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe. These are to die for!! A must try and oh so easy to make. For those that thought it was too much onion, it would really depend on the size of your onion. I had a relatively small onion, so I used the whole thing and it was just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
These were a wonderful side for my tortilla soup!! Very easy and a little different. Next time I would cut the amount of onion in half.......way too oniony. I used smoked gouda....wonderful. thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HB Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
These were so tasty. I didn't have Dijon mustard so I used regular yellow mustard. I didn't realize the recipe called for 2 packages of rolls. I used one pack of Hawiian rolls. The butter made it too greasy but maybe it's because I only used 1 pack of rolls. My husband ate 4 sandwiches and said "This is a very good sandwich" :0
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
In our family we call these Ham Delights and we like them any time of the day for any meal - brunch, lunch, party appetizer, or a light supper. We used to always use the Pepperidge Farm Party rolls but sometimes have trouble finding them these days. The Hawaiian mini rolls or small potato rolls work well also, even though they may be a little larger than the Pepperidge Farm rolls. It's really important not to change the ingredients in this recipe. You must have the butter, the poppy seeds, the grated onion, the Worcestershire sauce, and the Dijon mustard. You must not substitute another cheese for the Swiss cheese. Shaved deli ham works just fine. I've never used chopped cooked deli ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
These are standard fare in my family for all the bridal/baby showers! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Roseville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
These are such delightful appetizers! I have been making these for many years, they are always quick to disappear! The only problem is, sometimes I don't get one they go so fast! Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rutledge, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I have made this recipe for several years and it is a family favorite. I use slice cheese and put swiss on 1 side and cheddar on the other. It is an excellent meal after a sports practice. Just add a salad and heat the premade sandwiches and you can't go wrong. I have taken them to all sorts of parties and work events and I am always asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chester, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 275) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States