Easy Ground Beef Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2005
I am only giving this a 4 because I tweaked it to our tastes. I added no water, because it seemed like it might be too runny and skipped the salt and reduced the bouillon. I browned the hamburger, onions and 1 heaping TBSP of minced garlic (jar found in produce section) in a fry pan. I added pepper to my taste. (a lot more than called for) I then drained and put in my crock along with 1 lg. can of mushroom soup (instead of mushrooms)and 1 sm. can tomato sauce, (instead of paste) and 4 bouillon cubes. I also added some paprika. I cooked pasta shells and mixed it in with the stuff in the crock after it was finished cooking on low. (meat mix cooked for 3 hrs on low) I would have used egg noodles, but realized I was out. This was GREAT!!!!!!!!! I don't usually like this type of meal, but even I loved it this time. Hubby loves this stuff. I served with grean beans and garlic bread. The mushroom soup made this soooo creamy and yummy. No need for added milk or sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
260 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
I picked this recipe because it didn't call for sour cream.. which I didn't have on hand. I added Worcestershire's from another review, and added real mushrooms instead of canned. I didn't have tomato paste, so I used a small can of tomato sauce.. Towards the end I thought it needed something else, so I added a can of cream of mushroom... and threw in egg noodles that were cooked 3/4 of the way through. I let it simmer lightly while I ran to the store for about 20 minutes. I came back, it was all gone. My husband had dug into it and thought it was sooooooooo good. He wasn't even all that hungry when he'd came home from work, too. He told me our 2 year old had two helpings. He left me 2 bites worth. He thought it was awesome, and I guess my 2 year old did too. I gave it 4 stars just because I had to tweak it a little bit..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arvada, Colorado, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2003
This was very good! I took it to the picnic too. It was easy. I did use 1/2 lb of fresh mushrooms instead of canned. I did it in the crockpot, overnight, and stired in noodles in the morning. That way it made a one pot dinner. I also added a can of cream of mushroom soup. with roasted garlic. Will use this again! And I also figured that the sour cream was left out, so added that. My husband really loved this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oaksfan
Living In: Hagerstown, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2003
Very bland. I substututed 1/2 cup of sour cream for the cold water and added 2tbls of worcestershire sauce which greatly improved the taist. My husband who doesn't like anything loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alisonwillette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fallbrook, California, USA
Living In: Brawley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
I used 2 cans of cream of mushroom soup and 1 cup of water (no flour). I used 2-3 tbsp. of tomato paste. Everything else was just as the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
This made my house smell wonderful, and I thought it was very tasty. Hubby only liked it "so-so" and he said it was a glorified version of Hamburger Helper. I, personally thought it was very tasty and it hit the spot. I did mine in the crockpot after browning the meat and sauteeing the onions & garlic. Also took the advice of another poster and used cream of mushroom instead of canned mushrooms. Also added in sour cream at the end. Didn't use the water & flour - and it turned out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2003
I gave this recipe 4 stars because it served its purpose! It was quick, easy, cheap and wholesome. Yes, it is like hamburger helper but with lots less preservatives and trans fats. I think the recipe writer left out the sour cream part, but anyone who knows stroganoff knows to add sour cream before serving. We served over egg noodles like another reviewer suggested and it was a good dinner. Not gourmet, but is stroganoff ever gourmet? We will make again definitely! My husband and 21 month-old toddler loved it. Great for those quick week-night meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2002
I was not impressed. This is a good "Quick and Dirty" meal for the family, but I would hardly serve it to guests. It *IS* very tasty, but nothing to rave about. My husband is a cooking enthusiast (it is is hobby), so I have high standards. I prefer stroganoff to have the creamy texture of REAL cream! This was far more complicated than a box of Hamburger Helper - for about the same result!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2001
This recipe was very good and so easy. I did make a few changes though. I didn't add the salt,I only added 5 boullion cubes, I added 4 cloves of garlic, and I addded fresh broccoli flowerets. Everyone loved it. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
Blech. :( I wasn't at all pleased with the consistency or taste of this. It needed big chunks of something in it - this was more like ground beef soup. Ick! I gave it two stars because it was edible to my hubby, but he didn't like it either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Romeo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Beef Stroganoff

This rich, creamy stroganoff makes a tasty weeknight dinner.

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States