Easy Ground Beef Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
I used 2 cans of cream of mushroom soup and 1 cup of water (no flour). I used 2-3 tbsp. of tomato paste. Everything else was just as the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
I picked this recipe because it didn't call for sour cream.. which I didn't have on hand. I added Worcestershire's from another review, and added real mushrooms instead of canned. I didn't have tomato paste, so I used a small can of tomato sauce.. Towards the end I thought it needed something else, so I added a can of cream of mushroom... and threw in egg noodles that were cooked 3/4 of the way through. I let it simmer lightly while I ran to the store for about 20 minutes. I came back, it was all gone. My husband had dug into it and thought it was sooooooooo good. He wasn't even all that hungry when he'd came home from work, too. He told me our 2 year old had two helpings. He left me 2 bites worth. He thought it was awesome, and I guess my 2 year old did too. I gave it 4 stars just because I had to tweak it a little bit..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arvada, Colorado, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
I made this recipe using cubed steak instead of the ground beef. I cut the steak into serving size pieces and browned in a skillet and sat aside. I then proceeded to cook the onions and other ingredients as directed then added the meat back to the skillet and simmered. I cooked less than the hour suggested - probably 35 to 40 minutes - just until the cubed steak was done. I served it over egg noodles. I thought the sauce/gravy was a bit thin. Less water would have been better. I used the leftovers the next day with rice. The sauce was a bit thicker the second day and was delicious. My husband loved it. This recipe is definitely a "keeper" for our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatPhish

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Monticello, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
This made my house smell wonderful, and I thought it was very tasty. Hubby only liked it "so-so" and he said it was a glorified version of Hamburger Helper. I, personally thought it was very tasty and it hit the spot. I did mine in the crockpot after browning the meat and sauteeing the onions & garlic. Also took the advice of another poster and used cream of mushroom instead of canned mushrooms. Also added in sour cream at the end. Didn't use the water & flour - and it turned out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
very good for when you're in a hurry, though I wouldn't call it memorable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
Tasty & easy! I like to brown up a bunch of hamburger and have it frozen, that step really makes this a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
Extremely easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
My husband is quite "picky", but he loved this and actually told me I could make it again.....a rare comment from him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wautoma, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
I actually think this "stroganoff" had a pretty nice flavor, but it just wasn't what I expected. It reminded me more of a meat sauce to put over spaghetti in appearance. I suppose it would have been better with about half as much tomato, in my opinion. I gave it two stars for flavor, but subtracted three, because had I not told anyone what it was supposed to be, no one would have ever guessed it was stroganoff and not just another pasta sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
This dish was a staple in our house when I was growing up. My mother usually made this version with stew beef though, instead of ground beef. When I first started making it myself, it never tasted quite the same, until one day she told me her secret. Use real butter (not oil or margarine) for all the sauteeing. It adds some calories, true, but the flavor will be drastically improved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Beef Stroganoff

This rich, creamy stroganoff makes a tasty weeknight dinner.

Daria's Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

Saucy, creamy and comforting dish of beef and mushrooms prepared in a slow cooker

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States