Easy Ground Beef Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
This is very similar to the Stroganoff I used to make for my family. However, I used no cubes and added sour cream at the end after I removed it from the heat. We served over noodles. It might not be "real" strognaoff, but the idea is that it is easy, tasty, and simple. My family always loved it. I did try this a few weeks ago (?) and found that using the bouillon made it too salty for me, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
Too salty as others have sad. Yes, real stroganoff does have a little bit of tomato paste in it, about a tablespoon is all. This isn't stroganoff. I don't know what it is, a soup maybe? Stroganoff also needs Worchestershire sauce, and requires sour cream. It's also never made with hamburger or bouillion cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
I hate to be the one to tell you but Beef Stroganoff does not have tomatoes in it. You really need to call this something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
First tried 12/03 Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SharChas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
I Loved this recipe!!! Great for fast and easy dinners!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sparkybuddy56

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
I see this as a glorified beef sauce for spaghetti. Not what I think of as Beef Stroganoff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
This was not for me, this also had bad side effects for my family. I used real mushrooms too (don't prefer the canned ones). Think it had too many beef cubes - maybe try one less? Still don't know if I would like it though. I really like cream based mushroom soup type stroganoff but that is NOT the way I would like to make it (that's the reason I tried this recipe) will keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARCIA99116

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fortville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
I used 2 cans of cream of mushroom soup and 1 cup of water (no flour). I used 2-3 tbsp. of tomato paste. Everything else was just as the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
I picked this recipe because it didn't call for sour cream.. which I didn't have on hand. I added Worcestershire's from another review, and added real mushrooms instead of canned. I didn't have tomato paste, so I used a small can of tomato sauce.. Towards the end I thought it needed something else, so I added a can of cream of mushroom... and threw in egg noodles that were cooked 3/4 of the way through. I let it simmer lightly while I ran to the store for about 20 minutes. I came back, it was all gone. My husband had dug into it and thought it was sooooooooo good. He wasn't even all that hungry when he'd came home from work, too. He told me our 2 year old had two helpings. He left me 2 bites worth. He thought it was awesome, and I guess my 2 year old did too. I gave it 4 stars just because I had to tweak it a little bit..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arvada, Colorado, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
I made this recipe using cubed steak instead of the ground beef. I cut the steak into serving size pieces and browned in a skillet and sat aside. I then proceeded to cook the onions and other ingredients as directed then added the meat back to the skillet and simmered. I cooked less than the hour suggested - probably 35 to 40 minutes - just until the cubed steak was done. I served it over egg noodles. I thought the sauce/gravy was a bit thin. Less water would have been better. I used the leftovers the next day with rice. The sauce was a bit thicker the second day and was delicious. My husband loved it. This recipe is definitely a "keeper" for our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatPhish

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Monticello, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Beef Stroganoff

This rich, creamy stroganoff makes a tasty weeknight dinner.

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States