Easy Grilled Tri Tip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2002
Good mix of flavors. It's nice using the soy for the "salt" in the dish instead of regular table salt, which adds no flavor of it's own. If you leave the roast whole and marinate the day before cook for 20 minutes per side on a med-low flame. Let rest for 10 minutes covered with foil and slice. Much better that way--more tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
This marinade is incredible. I recently used this recipe and applied it to 20 lbs of tri tip for a company picnic (proportions increased accordingly). I also added some garlic salt and went a little heavier on the crushed garlic and black pepper to the mix and cut the meat down to 2-3 lb pieces, fat side removed, and let marinade overnight. I cooked this over a charcoal grill until between medium rare to medium and sliced up into approximately 4 inch strips. This was a major hit at the picnic. A side note the remaining marinande was applied to the meat throughout the cooking process for additional seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pflugerville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
Great for camping. Just freeze the meat in the marinade the day before. Defrost at the campsite and grill. Slice the meat up and serve with tortillas, salsa and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMBILL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
i've been looking for the perfect tri tip marinade and i've found it. followed recipe exactly, sliced it, marinated for 5 hours and it was absolutely perfect! i also prepared it whole/cooked 20 min per side as another reviewer said and it too was incredible. this is hands down the best tri tip i've ever eaten. my whole family loved this. definitely a keeper! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
This is a good start, but next time I will put a lot more garlic in the marinade, and some extra pepper. Still my guests liked it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2005
This was excellant!! I'm not much of a beef eater and rarely cook it, but I was having a craving for a steak. I bought some tri-tip steaks but wasn't sure how to cook them. I used this recipe and it tuned out very tender and flavorful. I did cook it in the broiler instead of on a grill for the same amount of time. I will definitely be making this again. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2003
i used sirloin and let it soak for 6 hours i also substituted soy sauce for yoshiami teriaki sauce cause i had no soy everyone just loved it grilled so great thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LB1LEEMA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2002
Erika - This is the yummiest recipe ever. You know we have to cook it all the time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2002
Wow, good stuff! Just wish the meat cut on Tri Tip was big like it was in CA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
I made this recipe for a group of people last night. Since I don't eat red meat, I can't speak for hand, but everyone loved it! I bought tri tip steaks at Costco which didn't need any trimming or extra work. The only thing that I did differently was that I added fresh rosemary and a touch more garlic. It was a great success and I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Santa Maria Grilled Tri-Tip Beef

See how to make classic California-style barbecued tri-tip.

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

How to Make Grilled Fruit Skewers

Skewered strawberries, mangoes, papayas, and pineapples all excel on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States