Easy Grilled Tri Tip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
The marinade was very good. I wish it had permeated more of the meat though so next time I would marinate it overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I loved this. I made a few changes. I doubled the garlic and pepper. I added 1 tsp paprika. 1 tsp spicy mustard and a 1/2 tsp crushed ginger. I doubled the original recipe. Oh my was this delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by reachkimo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmichael, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
One of my favorite grill recipes. The use of soy gives it a different flavor than your traditional salt/pepper steak seasoning. I prefer my tri tip grilled whole instead of cut into steaks. A couple of tweaks: I like garlic so I use about half a bulb (about 7 cloves). I also add pepper to the tri tip right before grilling. Instead of water, I use about a quarter cup of OJ to let it marinate with a little bit of acid. After marinating overnight, I sear each side for about 3 minutes, then cook roughly another 10 to 15 mins each side until it reaches 125 to 130° internally. I'll also pour leftover marinade onto the meat as it cooks, as not to let the great flavors go to waste. After cooking, I let it rest under a foil tent for about 10 minutes before slicing -- against the grain of course! Juices that run off the meat after cooking and slicing (and NOT the uncooked, leftover marinade!) go great on top of the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
Making this marinade to spec, I give it 4.0. I like it because it was different from my usual seasoning mixture, it definitely had a unique taste to it. Kind of a euro-asian flare. My adult daughter loved it, and she is very hard to please and loves steak. I used the tri tip loin, marinated it for 6 hrs, then in a med-hot pan, cooked two strips, side by side, 3 mins ea side, rested for 3-4 minutes, then let the juices flow. It was much more tender, plus the fact that I had time to let it marry for 6 hrs helped, I'm sure. We like ours rare, and I cooked it to perfection, which is a feat in itself :). Very happy with the results. Thanks for sharing a different type of marinade. I will probably use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by V.Naehu808

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waianae, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Easy but wonderful outcome! I have been using this marinade to a whole chicken for roasting and still very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
This is just perfect! I get four small slices of tri tip, use this marinade and then throw on the grill. Easy and very tasty! Fairly healthy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
Tri tip beef is something that I rarely find in the grocery store so when I did find one I decided to try it to see what this cut of meat was all about. Now that I had the beef I needed a recipe. I turned to All Recipes.com and there was my recipe. We marinated the meat for about 12 hours and then cooked it whole. It came out juicy and so delicous. Can't wait to try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Webster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
To those who thought the recipe was bland, I used this as a base and spiced mine up considerably. With the new additions, it was incredible! I substituted 2 tablespoons lemon juice for the water in the recipe, 1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes for the black pepper, and added 1/4 cup red wine, 1 tablespoon freshly grated ginger (you can substitute 1/4 teaspoon ground) and 2 extra garlic cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
I added 1/3 cup light brown sugar and 1 tsp ginger powder to the marinade. Marinated the meat about 8 hours. It was SO good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
I have been making a similar marinade for years. The only difference is instead of water, I add some vinegar (red wine or white ) as it is very tenderizing. I also use at least 4 garlic clove sections for maximum flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Santa Maria Grilled Tri-Tip Beef

See how to make classic California-style barbecued tri-tip.

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

How to Make Grilled Fruit Skewers

Skewered strawberries, mangoes, papayas, and pineapples all excel on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States