Easy Green Chile Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
Family loved it even my 4yr old. I did add season salt, cumin, garlic salt, and reg. salt. Just dashes of each. Amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
very,very bland, no taste at all.I ended up adding 1 jalapeno pepper, some cumin, oregano,bay leaf and salt and it was edible.I also fried strips of flour tortilla to garnish it along with some diced up cilantro. I don't think I would make it again with ground beef. I have seen this recipe made with pork or stew meat, probably would be more flavorful. I might try it that way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
This was good! I used beef broth instead of water. It does take longer to cook than stated. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
Very Good, but I made it without the meat, I really don't care for ground beef except in a burger. To make up for the lack of meat I added the recommended salt, pepper, cumin and broth instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Just awesome soup. Loved the flavor and colors. I didn't have any hominy, so I just added more corn. This was easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Pretty bland as written... I salvaged it by adding 1 c. beef stock (only started with two cups of water for fear it would be too liquidy) and added a lot of cumin, salt, and pepper. Next time I'll be sure to season the ground beef better and use all beef broth instead of water. It's worth trying, but needs more flavor which you can add it to suit your tastes. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Catlin
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
We really liked this recipe and didn't find it to be too bland at all. I used a can of white hominy and a can of petite diced tomatoes. I did add the full 3 cups of water and found it to be a little too liquidy. I fixed that by adding a little cornstarch/water mixture and thickened it up to our liking. Topped it off with some shredded pepperjack cheese and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcpherson, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
Absolutely no taste what so ever. I tried adding garlic and cumin and it was edible but very bland and not worth making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendy31179

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
This was totally easy to make. I'd make again. My family loved it. I wasn't sure what the difference between yellow and white hominy but I used white. This was mild not spicy. It was very very good and it was a great alternative for my kiddos. We did have to add extra water because there wasn't any liquids to help cook with the potatoes and in fact it took longer to cook the potatoes for that reason. When reheated most of the juice factor is gone, but that's okay, I opened up a small can of green chili enchilada sauce and added to the stew and it was totally awesome as a reheat dish. We totally loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States