Easy Greek Yogurt Cucumber Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
The secret to the perfect tzatziki is home made yogurt/sour cream because the real greek sour cream is much more sour than the american sour cream which is actually very mild and sweet. This recipe is good but far from being authentic! There is no feta cheese or vinegar in the original recipe...but it tastes good and the lemon and vinegar are a smart solution for the lack of sourness in the sour cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by E.H.H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SLJ6
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
I loved this recipe!.....I used Fage Greek yogurt (non-fat), low fat sour cream......and made this sauce the day before I served it......The flavors and texture of the cucumber were excellent. I served this on Greek Style Garlic Chicken on this site in a whole wheat pita....hubster loved this sauce as well....Thanks 5THSISTER.....great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
This is INCREDIBLE. I made this last night before bed and had it to snack on today. WOW. I just can't get enough. I did add a couple more chopped green onions. That's the only change I made. This one's going to be made a lot. It really is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
Last night, I made a special trip to the grocery store for the few ingredients I didnt have for this dip. I read the other reviews and its so funny how our taste buds "read" different foods. I thought this dip was VERY tasty, and consider it a lovely addition to spring/summer parties where several fresh foods are often served. My husband thought it was a pleasant change from otherwise "heavy" dips...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moyock, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
Why didn't I make this sooner? Easy and very tasty. Served with Abby Benner's Souvlaki. I thought maybe all the good reviews were because 5th Sister is a beloved member of A/R but no it's just a really good recipe. My only thought is that this recipe does not show up when you are searching for tzatziki sauce and some cooks might be missing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jephy's Mom

Cooking Level: Beginning

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
I made this for the first time to serve with snacks for overnight guests. It was really yummy; my only 2 *issues* w/it were my fault (and I'm sharing so others can take my experience into consideration): 1. it was a little runny, which I'm sure is because I used ff sour cream and yogurt...next time I'll have to decide if I'd rather have it lighter or a little thicker. 2. I was lazy and did not further crumble my feta so there were big chunks throughout. We all really enjoyed this; thanks for a great recipe 5thsis! Oh, I served w/assorted crudite and pita bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
This recipe turned out just like how my favorite Greek resturant makes it. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I used greek yogurt instead of plain, red wine vinegar instead of white, and changed the oregano to dill and it was wonderful!! Also, I added extra dill and cucumbers as a personal preference. My family always loves this and there is never any left!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Felton, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Eh, this was just okay. I'll try a different recipe next time. This one was a little bland for my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TARAWVU

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: South Charleston, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
Wow this is sooo much better than any tzatziki I've had at the Greek/Mediterranean restaurants in my city. Used full fat greek yogurt instead of plain and did not strain it; lowfat regular sour cream. Used 1/2 of a large cucumber, did not skin or de-seed it. Threw all ingredients into the blender (since I don't like cucumber chunks). Used 1/2 tsp salt and 1/4 tsp pepper. It was very liquidy/runny, which was perfect as a topping for the spinach crepes I was making. Wow! Usually with ethnic foods I really have to mess with the balance of ingredients to be happy with it, but this one was perfect as written! Love it and so does the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tzatziki Sauce

This refreshing dip also works well as a dressing or sandwich sauce.

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

How to Make Tzatziki Sauce

Pair this creamy cucumber and yogurt sauce with grilled meats and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States