Easy Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I love this gravy! Gravy is one of the few things I miss since being vegetarian, but this is even better than the real thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Easy. A little on the salty side. Not sure how the flour was supposed to dissolve in the butter. Ended up using the broth to dissolve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
I used cornstarch in place of the miso paste and omitted the soy sauce. It was smooth and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Steward

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I didn't have miso, so I added about 1/2 - 1 t. of corn starch. I had to do this 2 times: it's very important to SLOWLY add the broth and stir constantly so as to maintain thickness. Up to this point, it was a 3 for me because I found it a little bland or lacking depth, so at the end, I added about 1/2t. poultry seasoning and it was a 5-star! Everyone loved it, and it will be my gravy standard from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
I had to make modifications to this recipe as I wanted to use it on biscuits. I used 1/3 cup of organic vanilla soy milk, and only 1 2/3 cup of the vegetable broth. I also used 1T organic red miso and 1T organic yellow miso, with Organic Tamari soy sauce. I also used malt flour instead of all- purpose and ended up having to add 2T corn starch to thicken it up enough to pour over biscuits. It was very tasty and not salty to me at all. But I do believe the organic ingredients that I used contain less salt than the regular brands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Price

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
This turned out to be easy as promised and pretty tasty. I had to adapt this recipe since I don't have miso paste and I am not sure what that is. I added some corn starch in it's place to ensure the gravy woulf thicken. I added some garlic and onion spices to give it great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Oh my god, this was sooo easy to make and it is surprisingly really really good! I took the precaution of one reviewer saying it was too salty and only added one tablespoon of soy sauce and it came out perfect. I also didn't have miso paste so just used the flour, broth, soy sauce and onion powder and it was just fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
Too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
I liked it! It's a good way to use up the last of the miso. I didn't have onion powder, but I sauteed some spring onions before adding the flour. I used 1 beef bouillon and 2 sodium-free vegetable bouillon cubes for the broth, and found it to be salty enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookychef
Reviewed: May 18, 2008
Worked the first time, and tasted great. I substituted the miso paste for vegemite (being Australian, and not having any miso paste handy) and it worked perfectly. Somehow it even managed to take on a mushroom aroma, loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Turkey Gravy

This top-rated turkey gravy always comes out smooth and creamy. No lumps!

How to Make Vegetarian Gravy

Learn the tricks to making savory gravy using only vegetable fats.

Mom's Country Gravy

Discover the secrets to smooth, creamy country gravy with no lumps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States