Easy Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2000
The only difficulty that I had was in making it thick. And I can't cook at all. I made this with mashed potatoes (as the main dish) for 11 people. About 3/4 really like the gravy (which is pretty darn good with this group.) All in all, very worth making, just be prepared to let it sit for a while to thicken, and never really get that thick. Also, be sure you like miso.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2001
This gravy is easy and delicious; a meat-eater would never know this was vegan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2001
This gravy was great. I used real onion instead of onion powder and vegetable boullion instead of vegetable broth and it worked out fine. I had a problem with the flour clumping so I'd recommend sifting it first. All in all it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
though i made a smaller quantity, this gravy came out really really well. nice and thick. very miso-y though.. and therefore quite salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2005
This gravy wasn't what I was looking for. It tasted too flour-y, and I'm not sure why. I did add mushrooms which gave it a bit of interest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
This was excellent. Instead of adding the flour as directed I put the required amount plus extra and shook it in a jar with cold water, really well. Then slowly added the flour mixture to the hot gravy, stirring slowly. It thickened up nicely. Also your not supposed to boil miso so I added after it had boiled. I added kelp as well because miso and kelp combined remove radiation out of the body. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jazdyne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nelson, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
Worked the first time, and tasted great. I substituted the miso paste for vegemite (being Australian, and not having any miso paste handy) and it worked perfectly. Somehow it even managed to take on a mushroom aroma, loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
I liked it! It's a good way to use up the last of the miso. I didn't have onion powder, but I sauteed some spring onions before adding the flour. I used 1 beef bouillon and 2 sodium-free vegetable bouillon cubes for the broth, and found it to be salty enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookychef
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
Too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Oh my god, this was sooo easy to make and it is surprisingly really really good! I took the precaution of one reviewer saying it was too salty and only added one tablespoon of soy sauce and it came out perfect. I also didn't have miso paste so just used the flour, broth, soy sauce and onion powder and it was just fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Turkey Gravy

This top-rated turkey gravy always comes out smooth and creamy. No lumps!

How to Make Vegetarian Gravy

Learn the tricks to making savory gravy using only vegetable fats.

Mom's Country Gravy

Discover the secrets to smooth, creamy country gravy with no lumps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States