Easy Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I love this gravy! Gravy is one of the few things I miss since being vegetarian, but this is even better than the real thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
This was excellent. Instead of adding the flour as directed I put the required amount plus extra and shook it in a jar with cold water, really well. Then slowly added the flour mixture to the hot gravy, stirring slowly. It thickened up nicely. Also your not supposed to boil miso so I added after it had boiled. I added kelp as well because miso and kelp combined remove radiation out of the body. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jazdyne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nelson, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2001
This gravy is easy and delicious; a meat-eater would never know this was vegan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2001
This gravy was great. I used real onion instead of onion powder and vegetable boullion instead of vegetable broth and it worked out fine. I had a problem with the flour clumping so I'd recommend sifting it first. All in all it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
I used cornstarch in place of the miso paste and omitted the soy sauce. It was smooth and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
though i made a smaller quantity, this gravy came out really really well. nice and thick. very miso-y though.. and therefore quite salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
This turned out to be easy as promised and pretty tasty. I had to adapt this recipe since I don't have miso paste and I am not sure what that is. I added some corn starch in it's place to ensure the gravy woulf thicken. I added some garlic and onion spices to give it great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Oh my god, this was sooo easy to make and it is surprisingly really really good! I took the precaution of one reviewer saying it was too salty and only added one tablespoon of soy sauce and it came out perfect. I also didn't have miso paste so just used the flour, broth, soy sauce and onion powder and it was just fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Easy. A little on the salty side. Not sure how the flour was supposed to dissolve in the butter. Ended up using the broth to dissolve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2000
The only difficulty that I had was in making it thick. And I can't cook at all. I made this with mashed potatoes (as the main dish) for 11 people. About 3/4 really like the gravy (which is pretty darn good with this group.) All in all, very worth making, just be prepared to let it sit for a while to thicken, and never really get that thick. Also, be sure you like miso.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Turkey Gravy

This top-rated turkey gravy always comes out smooth and creamy. No lumps!

How to Make Vegetarian Gravy

Learn the tricks to making savory gravy using only vegetable fats.

Mom's Country Gravy

Discover the secrets to smooth, creamy country gravy with no lumps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States