Easy Granola Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
These are more like cookies than granola bars - very sweet. They taste very good though. I used chopped walnuts instead of almonds and skipped the cranberries. I would maybe try these with dessicated (unsweetened) coconut flakes rather than the sweetened kind, to cut the sweetness a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
nice, i like that's it's quick and customisable. I used ground up hazelnuts instead of sliced almonds. I also like that it's got lots of oats. I used rolled oats instead of quick cooking. A keeper. Hazelnuts and apricots come to mind, as does white chocolate chips and cranberries. Lots of possibilities. (I just noticed, reading other people's reviews, that I forgot to add the butter to the recipe! oh well, it was nice anyway!!) * * * Made it a second time, used 1 cup almond meal in lieu of sliced almonds, dessicated coconut in lieu of flaked coconut, 2 tbsp rice bran oil in lieu of butter, and added one egg white (just because I had it on hand) and it turned out beautifully! I absolutely love this recipe. I have a healthier one with yoghurt and honey instead of sweetened condensed milk, but I love that this one is so delicious, versatile, and QUICK!!! Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by France

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Fremantle, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewed: May 23, 2012
Excellent but we did change some things. We make these with m&m's, peanuts and raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
I only had regular oats on hand so I used those. Probably why they are a little crumbly! Next time I will try quick oats to see if they hold shape better. I also wasn't paying attention to 'wait 5 minutes to cut'. After a few minutes of cooling they held together better. Any crumbly peices I pressed back together and that seemed to help. I would love to find something else besides the canned sweetened milk to use, like honey. I wonder if it would be as good of a binder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
These are incredibly tasty and I love that they do not contain flour! My four kids and husband are crazy about them. I got a little creative with additions, but I used the overall basic recipe. I added mini chocolate chips, a small handful of peanut butter chips, flaxseed meal instead of almonds, and a scoop of peanut butter. It seemed slightly dry as I was mixing it, so I added maybe 2 tablespoons of unsweetened applesauce. They were nice and crunchy on the edges but chewy in the middle. They held together really well. Next time, I'll play around with more peanut butter and maybe some banana chips. Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lemon Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Use parchment paper or they stick to the pan and impossible to get out. I've made them twice now and I love them and so do the kids. I've served them to people and they ask for the recipe as well. Great snack and very nutrious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
These were delicious! Great flavor! I had the same problem with these that I have with all the granola bars I've made though, they don't hold together like the kind you purchase! I don't think it's the recipe though...it's me! I think I need to get a larger pan and cook them slightly longer. I would definitely make these again, they were the perfect fix when I had a sweet tooth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Alstead, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
EASY is the key word here! These are so fast and easy to throw together. Took them to a meeting this afternoon and got rave reviews from several people . . . a definite KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Tasted great....as granola not bars, as they did not want to come out of the pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 609) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Easy Apple Crisp

Apple crisp made with white cake mix, sugar, cinnamon and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States