Easy Granola Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
My family LOVES these! they are so easy to make and super yumy. My only question is if the condensed milk can be substituted for something with less sugar, say peanut butter??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilydawn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
I wasn't a big fan of the sweetened condensed milk, it gave the bars a strange, sickly sweet flavor. May try making these again, substituting honey for some or all of the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Manuel, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Made this one twice. The first time, I must have used regular oats and it was not good at all, tasted very strongly like sweetened condensed milk (which I generally like, but not good here) and uncooked oats and nothing like a granola bar should taste like. It was such a fail that it took me at least a year to try them again. I just made them again with quick oats, used chopped pecans, coconut, mini chocolate chips, some leftover rice chex crushed up... a little of everything, plus a splash of vanilla and an egg to help bind it together. No butter though. They turned out great! I'm so excited this worked this time, and will definitely make these again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
This recipe is fabulous! Be sure to read the review by the recipe author, that is what made this recipe 5 star for me! She said what she does is always has 3 cups of oats and then add 3-4 cups of anything else that you want! So I did 3 cups rolled oats, 1 cup chopped almonds, 1 cup chocolate chips, 1 cup crushed pretzels and 1 cup crushed corn flakes. I baked them for 22 minutes so that the outsides are crunchy but the inside is somewhat soft. Perfect! You can sub Fat Free Sweetened Condensed Milk to make it a bit healthier. The butter is totally unnecessary in my opinion, omit it! Great recipe--thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Joy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellflower, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Great base recipe!! Sticky but wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
i have used trail mix from a no name brand bought locally, with pumpkin seeds, sunflower seeds, raisins, peanuts whole almonds and cashews and it tasted really good, i added the choc chips in ...so i agree with you you can mix whatever in here and it will still taste good, love this recipe....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Yummy! I used rice crispies, chocolate chips, walnuts, and coconut for the add-ins. Where has this granola bar recipe been all my life? :) I may try using slightly less oats and add-ins next time to see if I can get the bars a bit less crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by toomanycooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
I use a cupcake tin, drop a bit of olive oil on the paper, and press the bars into place with an oiled drinking glass. After baking, I press again. Fantastic, fun, and healthy recipe. Thank you for it, Aliceyn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
very easy and tasty. I didn't have almonds, so I used sunflower seeds and peanuts. I will definetly make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristie
Home Town: Minotola, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
This is wonderful- I love how customizable it is. I have a co-worker who is allergic to nuts, so I just subbed in extra dried fruit. Dried apples are amazing in it. What a great versatile snack bar. And, the parts that crumbled when removed from the pan make a nice sprinkle to put on top of yogurt and ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 615) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Granola Bars

Perfect to pack for a hike, a camping trip and a long road trip.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States