Easy Granola Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
This was so good and easy! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
They had great flavor but fell apart. I will have to adjust cooking time to see if that will help. I also used homemade coconut sweetened condensed milk so that could have made a different texture. I will make these again, hopefully I can get them to come out as bars. Either way they will get eaten my husband loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
I used the 4cups of quick oats and 3 cups of almonds, pumpkin seeds and mini chocolate chips, 1 egg, sweetened condensed milk, omited the butter. They came out great! Kids loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Longwood, Florida, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Perfect recipe for an easy snack! I have been making these all the time with different requested add-ins. Chocolate chips and hazelnut (or walnut) seem to be the favorite. Add a little wheat germ for a great snack that can be made ahead of time for the school week. They do seem to get better the day after cooking, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LLD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Quick and easy, and tastes great! I didn't do any nuts or anything else with salt, so I added a tsp. I also added a bit of ground flax seed to make them "healthy" (ahem) and a cup of rice krispies to make them more like the store-bought variety so my kids would eat them. Used a jelly roll pan and parchment paper and they came out perfectly. Update: I made these again the other day and underbaked them a little (18 min). It's been three days, and they are still soft and chewy. I just have them in a zip lock bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
The entire family gave this recipe a thumbs up. I did not put in nuts because they don't really like them, so I added raisins, making it a chocolate/coconut/raisin bar. Nice, easy recipe and I can see that it would be pretty forgiving if you decide to "do your own thing." I would like to experiment with some options like bits of caramel, crushed pretzels, or cereal like Chex or Cheerios. As others did, I used the Fat Free sweetened condensed milk and it was fine. I used a 9.5 x 13.5 glass pan. I lined it with Reynolds Non-stick Pan Lining Paper, which is foil on one side fused to parchment on the other. Using the parchment side up, I packed the mixture down in the pan. I left enough paper sticking up to grab when the bars came out of the oven. After scoring them into bars, I lifted them out of the pan by the paper ends and put them on a wire rack to cool. They came out well. I baked them about 23-25 min in a gas oven. They were just a little brown on the edges and quite chewy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vikingprinsesse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
My family LOVES these! they are so easy to make and super yumy. My only question is if the condensed milk can be substituted for something with less sugar, say peanut butter??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilydawn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
I wasn't a big fan of the sweetened condensed milk, it gave the bars a strange, sickly sweet flavor. May try making these again, substituting honey for some or all of the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Manuel, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Made this one twice. The first time, I must have used regular oats and it was not good at all, tasted very strongly like sweetened condensed milk (which I generally like, but not good here) and uncooked oats and nothing like a granola bar should taste like. It was such a fail that it took me at least a year to try them again. I just made them again with quick oats, used chopped pecans, coconut, mini chocolate chips, some leftover rice chex crushed up... a little of everything, plus a splash of vanilla and an egg to help bind it together. No butter though. They turned out great! I'm so excited this worked this time, and will definitely make these again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
This recipe is fabulous! Be sure to read the review by the recipe author, that is what made this recipe 5 star for me! She said what she does is always has 3 cups of oats and then add 3-4 cups of anything else that you want! So I did 3 cups rolled oats, 1 cup chopped almonds, 1 cup chocolate chips, 1 cup crushed pretzels and 1 cup crushed corn flakes. I baked them for 22 minutes so that the outsides are crunchy but the inside is somewhat soft. Perfect! You can sub Fat Free Sweetened Condensed Milk to make it a bit healthier. The butter is totally unnecessary in my opinion, omit it! Great recipe--thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Joy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellflower, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 591) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States