Easy Granola Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2015
These are a great snack because of the nutrients that you get from the fruit and the nuts. Another thing I love is that you can easily alter this recipe to your preferred taste. I only baked them for 22 minutes and they turned out a little too soft and crumbly for my liking, so I would recommend that they bake for the whole 25 minutes. I omitted the canned milk for whole milk because I hate the taste of how overly rich it is. Unfortunately, I only had salted butter. I added cashews in addition to almonds and I also added white chocolate chips. Before putting it in the oven, I topped them with brown sugar. Finally, I cut the recipe in half because my grandparents are small eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
Yummm! I made these mostly for my husband. He has been eating store-bought chewy granola bars for breakfast for years and years, and I wanted to try something healthier for him. These taste 100 times better than those, IMHO. I made them almost exactly as written, only substituting coconut oil for the butter. I live at 7200 feet so I baked them for 30 minutes. Make sure you cool them on a rack; I think that helps eliminate any "sogginess". Next time I might try peanuts for almonds and peanut butter instead of/in addition to butter. Soy nuts would be great, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
ridiculously good! I followed all the general directions with oats, butter, and condensed milk. then3 cups of "whatever". I used chocolate chip, coconut and dried berries. Outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
I love these granola bars. I substitute coconut oil for the butter and use coconut oil for greasing the dish. I use a mixed antioxidant dried fruit blend from Costco instead of just cranberries. So yummy and lasts a long time sealed in a zip lock bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULES2JEWELS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Just made this recipe with a few adjustments, turned out great! For my 3 cups, I used mini chocolate chips, sliced almonds, and I cut up some dried banana chips. I thought I did a good job greasing the pan with spray olive oil, but it wasn't good enough. Next time, I'm going to try vegetable oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I didn't even have almonds and they turned out great.My 10yr old even loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
AWESOME. I have been making these bars for a year and the kids still devour them. i was looking for a healthy alternative to store bought. I have since made them for hiking trips and great for a quick snack. The great part of this recipe is the flexibility. Using different nuts or peanut butter, maple syrup, craisens, dates. the possibilities are endless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
I had about 3 cups of a fruit and nut "muesli" cereal that nobody liked. So I added another cup of oats, and then a blend of dried cranberries, chopped dates, pecans, chocolate chips and coconut to the bowl. Added the warmed sweetened condensed milk and a little vanilla. It went into a very greased 9x13 glass pan and was easily removed once it was cool. It is beyond delicious, and so easy. I planned to serve it for breakfast, but I doubt there will be any left in the morning! YUMMY!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Park Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Very easy and yummy. Have made this several times and have made the following alterations to my liking. I use old-fashioned oats or a mix of old-fashioned and quick cooking. Also use whole almonds. Makes for a heartier bar. The whole almonds are definitely harder to cut, but worth it. Easiest prep I have found for this is to line a jelly roll pan with parchment paper, dump in the stuff, cover with a sheet of waxed paper, and roll with a rolling pin. When done baking, slide them off the pan (while still hot and on the parchment paper), cut with a pizza cutter (while still hot).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 625) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Granola Bars

Perfect to pack for a hike, a camping trip and a long road trip.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States