Easy German Bierocks (Runza) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
These were good and held together well, but by strictly going by the recipe, they tasted a bit bland. I will make them again using another reviewer's suggestion of adding dry onion soup mix to the meat mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holloway

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Summertown, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lawrenceburg, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
This turned out well the first time I made it, but by adding soy sauce and worstershire sauce the next, the meat was much better tasting. I also used Pilsbury reduced fat crescent rolls as the dough, this made them fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JACLYNRENEE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
I wanted an easy side for a german dish and these were great. I had to play around with it since I was making a much smaller batch,(I cook for two). I wish I would have used more cabbage. I did add shredded carrots and used cresent roll dough. Next time I will use the dough mentioned in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Pasadena, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
Great! I made my own dough - but I think next time I'll try to find the roll dough because I'm lame at getting mine all the same size. I found the filling a little bland, so I added some dry mustard and celery seed -- excellent. I fried mine in the deep fryer and served them with stone ground mustard. Yum. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
Yes, this is the way Gramma, and Mom used to make them, only baked. and with thawed frozen bread rolls, or make your own bread dough in bread machine. I have a miracle whip salad dressing mixed with sour cream and prepared horseradish for a good sauce. same as with prime rib......for a "bam" little kick of flavor.. they freeze well and reheat in oven or better yet microwave. once frozen use seal a meal or food saver roll and get the air out. they keep a long long time. but if you have anyone around, they don't last. great for quick company short notice meals or snacks. I would give it a 10 rating if possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COUNTRYRAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
I used 2 balls of dough per Runza to make an adult sized sandwich but I rolled them out way too thin(read a review to do so - don't). I almost doubled the s&p, added garlic powder and worch. sauce and about 7C cabbage. Drained the fat from the meat before adding the cabbage, and again after it wilted and released water. Filling turned out GREAT. Not greasy, and didn't make the dough mushy. Will use the recipe again with additions, but I think it needs the sweeter home made dough. These will still go fast! Update: I froze these UNBAKED. Heat oven to 350 while letting Runza sit on counter/baking pan. Bake for 30 min when oven is at temp. Do not thaw more than that. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prttimecook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
Very good and easy to make. I added some carrots in with the other veggies. They don't last long at the dinner table. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
They were pretty good, we dipped them in mustard and a spicy BBQ sauce. I also baked them instead of frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, South Dakota, USA
Living In: South Hadley, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
have a mustard dip with it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
My parents loved it! But, being my father's daughter, I played with the recipe a bit. Personally, used large Crossant rolls out of tubes since my family likes them better than regular rolls. I stretched the larger end of the triangles before scooping the mix in and carefully, but quickly wrapping them up and I baked them instead of fried 'em (using the amount of minutes on the tube at 350 degrees F). ^^v;; And instead of a head of cabbage, I used pre-shreaded coleslaw mix for a bit of color and the added carrots, I also chopped up some red pepper and added it in for color. I had to drain my browned meat (I used 90% lean ground beef), then added the oil and veggies so the liquid wouldn't soak the rolls too much later on. I tested a small-ish slice of Sharp Cheddar cheese in half of them, but with the thin slices I used, you can't tell the difference - so I'd leave it out next time since it's not neccessary, and probably more healthy. Truly, I am going to make these for work lunches once in a while, they're a lot better than plain old sandwitches or worse, canned/microwave food. Thanks for posting it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zanheltangia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Saint Lucie, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kraut Bierocks

Try this authentic German meat-filled pastry for a light dinner or hearty snack.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States