Easy German Bierocks (Runza) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
An authentic German gal made this for us and I was hooked. I just made Mexican Tamales and had some of the sauce left and added it to the meat mixture, simmered till it was moist, not soupy. I baked mine and they came out outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
These were good and held together well, but by strictly going by the recipe, they tasted a bit bland. I will make them again using another reviewer's suggestion of adding dry onion soup mix to the meat mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holloway

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Summertown, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lawrenceburg, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
This turned out well the first time I made it, but by adding soy sauce and worstershire sauce the next, the meat was much better tasting. I also used Pilsbury reduced fat crescent rolls as the dough, this made them fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JACLYNRENEE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
I wanted an easy side for a german dish and these were great. I had to play around with it since I was making a much smaller batch,(I cook for two). I wish I would have used more cabbage. I did add shredded carrots and used cresent roll dough. Next time I will use the dough mentioned in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Pasadena, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
Great! I made my own dough - but I think next time I'll try to find the roll dough because I'm lame at getting mine all the same size. I found the filling a little bland, so I added some dry mustard and celery seed -- excellent. I fried mine in the deep fryer and served them with stone ground mustard. Yum. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
Yes, this is the way Gramma, and Mom used to make them, only baked. and with thawed frozen bread rolls, or make your own bread dough in bread machine. I have a miracle whip salad dressing mixed with sour cream and prepared horseradish for a good sauce. same as with prime rib......for a "bam" little kick of flavor.. they freeze well and reheat in oven or better yet microwave. once frozen use seal a meal or food saver roll and get the air out. they keep a long long time. but if you have anyone around, they don't last. great for quick company short notice meals or snacks. I would give it a 10 rating if possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COUNTRYRAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
I used 2 balls of dough per Runza to make an adult sized sandwich but I rolled them out way too thin(read a review to do so - don't). I almost doubled the s&p, added garlic powder and worch. sauce and about 7C cabbage. Drained the fat from the meat before adding the cabbage, and again after it wilted and released water. Filling turned out GREAT. Not greasy, and didn't make the dough mushy. Will use the recipe again with additions, but I think it needs the sweeter home made dough. These will still go fast! Update: I froze these UNBAKED. Heat oven to 350 while letting Runza sit on counter/baking pan. Bake for 30 min when oven is at temp. Do not thaw more than that. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prttimecook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
Very good and easy to make. I added some carrots in with the other veggies. They don't last long at the dinner table. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
They were pretty good, we dipped them in mustard and a spicy BBQ sauce. I also baked them instead of frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, South Dakota, USA
Living In: South Hadley, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
have a mustard dip with it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debbie storek

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kraut Bierocks

Try this authentic German meat-filled pastry for a light dinner or hearty snack.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States