Easy Garlic-Lemon Scallops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
This was my first time making scallops and they were delicious! I changed up the sauce by adding white wine to the butter/lemon juice and reduced it to make a thicker sauce and it came out really nice. I wish there were more sauce so next time I will add in chicken broth as well as the wine and I think that will help with the issue I had with the flavor being too lemony.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
This is a yummy recipe. I think I would use smaller scallops the next time because my hubby is not a fan of the big ones and I have a hard time figuring out when the large ones are ready. But we both LOVED the sauce. I added more veggies and sauteed ciopponi onions, zucchini and squash in a separate pan then combined it all and served over angel hair pasta. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Won my husband's approval! The lemon mixed with butter gave this dish a nick kick of flavor. I placed the scallops on cooked spaghetti noodles before pouring the sauce, and topped it off with chopped parsley to add some green color to the dish. My only mistake was cooking the scallops for too long (10 minutes total?). They seemed a little dry. Next time I would cook it for less time on the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Wonderful! I cut WAY down on the butter and added a little olive oil, heated to very hot, added the garlic, then the scallops, and fried the scallops about 3 mins./side. They browned beautifully! Removed the scallops to a covered plate, added about 1/3 cup of white wine, reduced it, added lemon juice, pepper, and about a half tsp. of dried tarragon. Poured over the scallops and enjoyed! I know this all drastically changed the original recipe, but it's a five-star rating. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Delicious. Except for using the butter, I used extra virgin olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
I live on Cape Cod so have sea scallops often. I've tried tons of recipes and yours is the best. I only made a couple of changes...I used half butter and half olive oil with crushed red pepper to brown the scallops...and added some white wine to the sauce after removing the scallops. Thanks for a super recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
THIS IS A GOOD AND EASY SCALLOP RECIPE. I HAVE ALSO DRIZZLED WITH A BIT OF BALSAMIC VINEGAR PRIOR TO SERVING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
This is pretty close to perfection. It's one of those recipes where all the amounts of the ingredients are completely adjustable to taste. I wanted my sauce full of lemon and garlic, and so added more of those, and once I took out the scallops I added a dollop more butter. Rich, buttery, delicious and took just a few minutes. I served it over angel hair pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This dish is amazing and oh so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Dutton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
3/4 cups of butter is so much butter the scallops drown...not possible to turn them, and therefore they never brown. And way too much garlic. Think maybe scallops are better eaten in seafood restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Scallops

These baked scallops are so buttery and so garlicky. Yum!

Seared Scallops with Jalapeno Vinaigrette

See how to make quick-and-easy seared scallops in a mild jalapeño vinaigrette.

Scallops with Fresh Corn Cream

See how to make seared scallops with easy, no-cream fresh corn cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States