Easy Garam Masala Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
It's been a while since I've been able to get my hands on real garam masala, so I'm sort of going from memory, but this tastes and smells pretty much like the real thing! I was out of cardamom so didn't use it and I suspect my coriandor was kaput since it didn't smell like much, but still - an excellent substitute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
Love it, thanks. Don't have anything really to compare it to bc I don't think I've tried garam masala by itself, but another recipe that saved me from buying another spice. I so don't need another one! I subbed curry powder for coriander bc I didn't think I had any, then I found some. I'm not sure what I was thinking bc now I have two jars of coriander . . . .(see what I mean? I don't need anymore! Can't even find what I have bc I have so many!!). Anyway, thanks! Perfect for the butter chickpea recipe on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
I have never purchased garam masala and I didn`t know its flavor. I used this recipe to make Indian dishes. I used all spices, roasted them for 1-2 min (until you could smell the aroma), then ground them. I think, great for use in all Indian recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
Easy to make. Great for use in many Indian recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
I needed garam masala for "Gobi Aloo (Indian Style Cauliflower with Potatoes) (also from allrecipes.com)." This recipe worked out great and I have more next time I need garam masala.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scarborough Fair

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prunedale, California, USA
Photo by Gail A. Guild
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
Just what I needed! I didn't have time to round up whole spices; frankm7 is right, whole is best, but in a pinch, this worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail A. Guild

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flemington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
I loved this stuff. I used whole spices though, roasted them together on dry pan until you could smell the aroma and then ground them all up. Was perfect on chicken tandoori and pulav.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
I, too, needed this for the Moroccan Lentil soup. It was easy to make and added with a little sugar and black tea, makes a great, quick Chai beverage! I love this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANTIH9

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
I used only 2 tsps of this to make Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken). Since I've never had Garam Masala or Chicken Makhani and have nothing to compare it with, I thought the dish was exceptional!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
This was great in Chicken Makhani.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Easy Garam Masala

See how to make your own Indian spice blend at home.

Easy Paella

Chicken, sausage, and shrimp shine in this easy, flavorful Spanish rice dish.

Easy Baked Tilapia

Prepare a healthy and delicious meal in just a handful of minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States