Easy Garam Masala Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 30, 2012
very good! And easy if you can't get to a specialty market.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
I could not find Garam Masala at the store to make an Indian Butter Chicken recipe I wanted to make. I used this.. not sure if it is good or not as I have never tasted Garam Masala before but will say it saved my recipe to be able to make my own. Be aware taht Cardamom is VERY expensive for a spice... I paid $10 for a small bottle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
I didn't have any garam masala on hand for a recipe yesterday, and this was a great find! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lulu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
I couldn't find this at any grocery store in my area...THANK YOU!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marybcurlyq

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Looking for an alternative to store bought curry powder when making Curried Mustard Greens with Kidney Beans from this sight. Though we were missing coriander and nutmeg, this was still wonderful...., HOWEVER, MY HUSBAND'S PREFERENCE WOULD BE TO REDUCE THE CUMIN A BIT..., HE LOVES IT TO BE STRONG IN TEX MEX, BUT NOT SO MUCH HERE (sorry, that's a note to self..., I personally loved it as is). We look forward to trying this with the proper ingredients next time. My husband might even enjoy the cumin with the appropriate changes. Thank you, thank you, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Thank you! My husband keeps urging me go try cooking Indian food at home, but I didn't want to have to buy a whole bottle of spice I might or might not end up liking. All other recipes were for toasting and grinding whole spices, which I rarely have on hand. This recipe hit the spot perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin J. Sky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Awesome in a pinch - but no substitution for roasting whole spices and grinding them yourself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homedale, Idaho, USA
Living In: Dundee, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Much easier than the hour drive I have to any decent spice shop (for whole or ethnic spice blends). My curry tasted the same as when I use the store garam masala.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
So grateful to have found this recipe since I can no longer find garam masala in my local supermarkets! Luckily, I had all the spices listed in this recipe, threw this together exactly as written, and used it in my crockpot chicken makhani. I can't say whether this is *traditional* garam masala, but I CAN say it worked wonderfully in my chicken makhani. For those of you who prefer the convenience of using pre-ground spices to make your garam masala, I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Garam Masala

See how to make your own Indian spice blend at home.

Easy Paella

Chicken, sausage, and shrimp shine in this easy, flavorful Spanish rice dish.

Easy Baked Tilapia

Prepare a healthy and delicious meal in just a handful of minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States