Easy Garam Masala Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Easy substitute for packaged garam masala. I made a bit extra so I can add it to other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Ohio, USA
Living In: Aliso Viejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
10/18/12 - VERY Easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
This recipe is a life saver. I am an American who lives in Bulgaria and I needed Garam Masala to make butter chicken. In Bulgaria, you can't find garam masala ANYWHERE. However, all of these ingredients were available and resulted in some of the best butter chicken I have ever had! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
I love this! So easy to make and it adds great flavour without too much heat. I love to saute onions, ground turkey and spinach with this as the seasoning.... yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Of course I was out of some of the spices so I substituted pumpkin pie seasoning for the cinnamon, cardamon, nutmeg, coriander and cloves. It was probably a little heavy on the cinnamon but I was probably the only one that noticed. The dish was definitely better with the Garm Masala, than without it. Much better! I love cinnamon, so to me it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
I've used many Garam Masala's in my cooking because my husband is from Punjab and we both enjoy Indian food. I use to make my own Garam Masala but found it too time consuming to make from scratch, I tried this recipe because it used less ingredients than what I am used to cooking with. Sorry but it was lacking in the rich flavour that I am use to. I have also tried some other brands like McCormick's and was disappointed at the blend. I just recently discovered the most amazing Garam Masala when I visited a Farmers Market in Port Moody area close to Vancouver BC. It was amazing, it was a punjabi style garam masala that can be used for hundreds of recipes. It seriously reminded me of my mother-in-laws cooking back in punjab! You can get it online from IndiaBase Canada's website. Sharmila masala's is another brand that I truly love, but its a bit hard to find. Making Garam Masala is an art and often takes several tries before getting it right! Hope this review helped!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Worked great since I can't get this locally
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by micheles6

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
What a wonderful way to mix up some garam masala, when it is needed for a recipe. From what I know of the taste and smell this was pretty darn close. I only needed enough for a recipe, so I just mixed a little up. I did an equal amount of all of the ingredients. Only change I made was leaving out the cardomon, because it is expensive. Nutmeg is similar, so a little extra of that can be added. I also subbed allspice for the cloves, because they are similar, but cloves remind me too much of Christmas. This mix is fool proof and worked great for what I needed it for. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2012
very good! And easy if you can't get to a specialty market.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
I could not find Garam Masala at the store to make an Indian Butter Chicken recipe I wanted to make. I used this.. not sure if it is good or not as I have never tasted Garam Masala before but will say it saved my recipe to be able to make my own. Be aware taht Cardamom is VERY expensive for a spice... I paid $10 for a small bottle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Easy Garam Masala

See how to make your own Indian spice blend at home.

Easy Paella

Chicken, sausage, and shrimp shine in this easy, flavorful Spanish rice dish.

Easy Garlic Broiled Chicken

This delicious dish is ready in less than 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States