Easy Garam Masala Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Having never had this spice blend before I've nothing to compare it to...however, the recipe I made it for ('Chicken Shawarmas' from this site) was scrumptious and now I can't wait to find more recipes using this fabulous spice combo. The only change I made was having to grind up my coriander, only had whole on hand. Thanks for saving me from sticker shock at the grocery store!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2014
I'm Punjabi and this recipe is completely authentic and easy to follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
Thanks for this spice recipe. I used it in a variety of India cuisine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by candy bar

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
I made a curry sauce with this spice blend and added it to a chicken/tomato recipe. Very Very VERY good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Grant

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I live very far away from any sort of store which sells Indian food, and wanted to try making some...so I was left to my own designs to find substitutes for the spices. So I followed this recipe, and the only things I had to buy were the cardamom (expensive!) and the cilatro/coriander. I only used 1/2 tsp of cumin as I really really do NOT like cumin, but I know that it'd be missing something without a bit of it. I used extra cinnamon, cloves and nutmeg. I combined all the stuff into a cermaic mortar/pestle and combined it that way. Ended up very floral and fragrant! Very intersting combination. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Too much cumin - try 1 or 1 1/2 teaspoons of ground BLACK cumin (charnushka or kalonji) and also add in 1/2 teaspoon of ground ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILovePotatoes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Excellent substitute. Why pay 8 bucks for a bottle that has been sitting on a grocers shelf for over a year. This works fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Jombus

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
This was so easy and we had all the ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I gave it 4 stars because it shouldn't contain cloves or nutmeg (I usually buy this seasoning from a Lebanese store and I've used it for years and nowhere does it list cloves or even nutmeg).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Mmm - perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Easy Garam Masala

See how to make your own Indian spice blend at home.

Easy Paella

Chicken, sausage, and shrimp shine in this easy, flavorful Spanish rice dish.

Easy Garlic Broiled Chicken

This delicious dish is ready in less than 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States