Easy Fruit Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
I used a can of tart cherries in water (drained the water), and I only used 1/2 C sugar. It was still really good. This recipe is easy to adjust to your personal tastes, and it's super easy and fast to make! I put it together in just a couple minutes while my chicken finished oven roasting and then popped it in the oven once the chicken was done. By the time dinner was over and cleaned up, dessert was ready. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacque_O

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aberdeen, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
This is a quick and easy recipe, which is always a good thing. I used frozen mixed fruit because that is what I had in the freezer and it turned out great. But this would work with any fresh or frozen fruit. I don’t make cobblers very often, so I think this has just become my go-to recipe for it. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OStreetGuy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Good and easy recipe. I followed recipe as is for the batter, but used plum, peach, pear, black berries and blue berries. The total amount of fruit was over 2 cups. I sprinkled cinnamon powder on top (I love cinnamon) and it turned out great. I like this recipe because the ingredients are always readily available in my kitchen and it takes very little time to prepare before you put it in the oven. It is very tasty, but I personally prefer something less sweet for the batter. I prefer much less sweetness than most people so I don't think that would be an issue for many. I think it works really well with some sweet and tart fruit. If the fruits are just sweet (like pear), I would add some lemon juice to give more dimension. If this recipe didn't turn out well, I think it is either because the fruits didn't taste well or maybe you just don't like cobbler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Fantastic recipe! I used freshly picked and pitted tart cherries and love the sweet and tart combination. Quick, easy, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kldsunshine17

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Londonderry, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Spring Creek, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
I made this for my family and everyone loved it. I used fresh hand picked black raspberries. Once I put the raspberries into the batter I sprinkled a tiny bit of white sugar over the top of the berries. I have already made this twice this weekend. Love it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
Very disappointed. The batter was inconsistent in texture: sometimes good, sometimes gummy and gelatinous and I couldn't finish it. Even when it was the right texture, I was not impressed by the taste. I completely followed the recipe and this is the first recipe on allrecipes.com that has bombed for me. I used blueberries only (frozen) and I did use gluten-free flour so that may have been a partial cause in the recipe not working for me. I won't try it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
I absolutely love this recipe. I make it with gluten free flour (King Arthur brand) and fresh granny smith apples about once a week. My husband likes to have extra apples on top, so I make it with apple chunks but I bake about two cups of apples separately then pile them on the individual servings after the cobbler is done. I do add quite a bit of cinnamon and a teaspoon of vanilla, but I put those in just about every baked good, so that's not a strike against the recipe. It takes all of ten minutes to mix the ingredients, melt the butter, and layer it into the dish. By the way, this doesn't require any xanthan gum if using the KA flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Quick and easy recipe. I've only made blueberry cobbler prior to trying this recipe, so it was a bit dry compared to what I'm familiar with. I think next time I would mix the apples with some juicy peaches or blueberries and it would make a big difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
I found that although this recipe was good, it need more sweetness to it. Especially if using fresh or frozen fruits. I used 2 cans sliced peaches( will use more next time) and sprinkled cinnamon and brown sugar on top. Also added vanilla to the batter. Instead of 3/4 cup milk I sybarites 1/4 of it for can peach juice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I made this recipe today using Granny Smith apples which I had mixed with a bit of cinnamon and brown sugar since they are so tart. I was very disappointed. The finished product (and I took it out 10 minutes early) was dry. I did take a 1/2 c water and 1/4 c sugar boiled it until clear and then poured over the top and returned to oven for about 5 minutes. It was okay then. I was surprised since I had a tried a similar recipe for individual cobblers previously and they came out too juicy and ran all over the cupcake tins. Sheesh
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 338) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Peach Cobbler

Sweet, simple, peach dessert ready in under an hour.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Basil Peach Pepper Parmesan Cobbler

Time-tested flavor combinations come together deliciously in this simple cobbler.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States