Easy Fried Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
I finished frying a large eggplant. I found that I had to keep adding more oil after each batch and I have a large 12" frying skillet. I also added seasonings and parsley to the bread crumbs. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Willoughby Hills, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I give this recipe 3 stars without adjustments because the taste was very bland. However, after changing the recipe the second time around by adding garlic powder and salt to the bread crumbs (an adjustment made by another reviewer), I was very pleased. I give this recipe with the alterations a five.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
I just made this! The boyfriend was a little put off by the idea of eating eggplant, but quickly found out he loved it! He couldn't stop eating it, and neither could I. I made a few small changes by adding a tsp. of garlic powder, using the recommended parm cheese, and adding a tbsp of freeze-dried Italian seasoning. I had a garden fresh eggplant, and it was delish! I also used EVOO in place of canola!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina Gerard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Just added a little salt and pepper to bread crumbs and topped with shredded mozzarella. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Taos, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Well, IMO there is one key thing this recipe doesn't get right and that is to prep the eggplant. You want to lay them out, salt both sides and wait about an hour. Rinse them off completely, then they are ready for your seasoned breading. The salt treatment removes most of the bitterness and allows the sweet flavor to come out. I also never peel my fried eggplant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Singledad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: Wrightstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
Delicious! I gave it four stars because I did tweak it. Like most reviewers, I added salt, pepper, Italian seasoning, and Parmesan cheese to the bread crumbs. Sounds like a lot, but it kinda feels like a given. Anyhow, this is a great beginner recipe, to which you can add any spices you like. Thank you, WALLEN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ddcrowley

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Monmouth, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alabaster, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Delicious and very quick and easy. I added Italian Spices to the breadcrumbs along with extra Dried Oregano and Parmesan Cheese to taste. I also lightly salted them before sautéing. They do soak up the oil very quickly, so I had to add additional oil. I chose to use Extra Virgin Olive Oil and it worked just fine. ~ Rani
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Perfect way to serve eggplant and get some more veggies...even if frying them nullifies the benefits. Definitely use more oil. I had seasoned breadcrumbs and they came out great - I know a lot of people said they were very bland. Topped them with some mozzarella and served with regular old store bought spaghetti sauce. If you kids like to "dunk" food, this is great recipe! Wonderful, fast and easy way to serve eggplant:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Delicious! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
The were Wonderful! I have to say I use to just use flour, salt and pepper. I love the taste of using the Italian bread crumbs. Nothing more has to be done if you stick to the Italian crumbs. Oh, I did sprinkle with a little salt after they were cooked but not much. This is the way to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Olive Oil Roasted Eggplant with Lemon

See how to make super-simple eggplant roasted with olive oil.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States