Easy French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2000
This recipe is HEAVY on the cinnamon!!! When scaled to 10 servings, it called for 1/4 cup plus 1 tablespoon of the spice - horrible. One tablespoon would have sufficed. Use caution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2000
Recipie is good although leaving bread to soak for 20 seconds is NOT a good idea! It leaves it soggy. So just dip the bread on each side and it will be really easy french toast! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2001
I'm wondering if the "20 seconds" was a typo and it actually was supposed to be "2 seconds". The inside was very soggy, so matter how long I cooked it. I would suggest just dipping each side of the bread really quick, and using very THICK bread! I used plain sandwich bread (like I usually do) and it did not turn out good at all. I'll probably give it another whirl with my own suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Blanchard Angell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mason City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2001
This recipe is not worth making as it is written. The cinnamon should certainly be a TEASPOON not Tablespoon. Perhaps if you use a heavier type of bread 20 seconds in the egg mixuture might be OK. 2 thumbs down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2001
Overall, I didn't like this recipe. I'm not sure if that was the correct amount of cinnamon, but two tablespoons of was too much for the recipe. No matter how long I cooked them, my toast stayed soggy. They were also very bland. I would not recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2001
It had good flavor, and was easy to make, however there was not enough egg, and it came out soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2001
Definatley way too soggy, perhaps only use half a cup of milk, and another egg, other than that it was tasty and easy..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2001
Easy and relly good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2002
The recipe worked really well for me, but there was too much cinnamon... it just would not blend thuroughly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2002
This is a great, simple recipe that will work for anyone who chooses to actually read the reviews before trying it. I have to laugh at everyone who experienced too much cinammon, or too soggy results. You all should have read the reviews FIRST.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States