Easy French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
This recipe can be tinkered with-use 2 eggs to 1/8 c. of milk and cut back on the cinnamon to about 1/2 tsp. One way to mix the cinnamon in thoroughly is to mix all ingredients together EXCEPT the milk-add it last.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
364 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2005
Not enough eggs and too much milk. I gave this recipe a try and now I have to spend a half-hour trying to clean up the fried milk at the bottom of my skillet. Soaking the bread for about 20 seconds a side will make the bread extremely soggy and impossible to toast in skillet. The final product was a doughy, messy substance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
325 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2005
If your french toast is soggy, your not cooking it all the way. Its pretty much impossible to cook it all the way on the stove top. Use 1 cup of milk and 3 large egg, add whatever else you like. dip each side of the bread in for 30 seconds, let it sit for 1 minute, then cook 3-4 minutes on each side. remove from pan, and cook in 350 degree oven for 5 minutes. The milk/egg mixture is just like a cuzstard. You have to cook it completly so its not a soggy mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
283 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Malaga, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2002
This is a great, simple recipe that will work for anyone who chooses to actually read the reviews before trying it. I have to laugh at everyone who experienced too much cinammon, or too soggy results. You all should have read the reviews FIRST.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2005
This recipe STINKS! It does not work at all. There is way too much milk and an outragous amount of cinnamon. Was this recipe some kind of joke or what? Whatever you do don't EVER use this recipe. You will regret it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2001
This recipe is not worth making as it is written. The cinnamon should certainly be a TEASPOON not Tablespoon. Perhaps if you use a heavier type of bread 20 seconds in the egg mixuture might be OK. 2 thumbs down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2005
This recipe was horrible. It was so soggy and was so gross. I was looking for an easy french toast recipe. It wasted my time trying to make it. It didn't cook good at all because of the great amounts of milk. I wouldn't recommend this recipe to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2005
Definetely too much milk and needs more egg. Another review was right... the first slice got WAY too much cinnamon compared to the rest. I made 3 slices, easily with the recommended amounts. TOO SOGGY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCARTER35

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buenos Aires, Ciudad Autónoma De Buenos Aires, Argentina
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2005
Terrible! Way too much milk and cinnamon. Don't waste your time on this recipe. Try French Toast I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
It was quick and easy to make and it was delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States