Easy French Onion Soup for Guests Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Very yummy onion soup. My husband and I loved it but the children did not. Not really a flavor most kids enjoy but for adults it's great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This is a very good recipe. However, make sure to remove the bay leaf and thyme sprigs. The French use wine often to flavor their food. I think it's silly to omit wine in a recipe simply because you "don't drink". The wine is not to get you drunk. It is an ingredient necessary to achieve the desired flavor in a dish. So to the previous reviewer, I don't think you should give one star when you obviously did not use the wine, which would have made a huge difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Culpeper, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
French Onion Soup is my son's favorite and he liked this the best! Very easy to make and flavorful. I love the splash of dry sherry and sherry vinegar. As Chef John suggested in his video recipe to purchase the real Gruyere cheese (which I did) and that adds a layer of pure culinary sophistication. Allow it to simmer long and slow. A wonderful meal on a cold day or anytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
My family loved this. Was a little sweet , won't use vidilia onions next. My fault.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
The easiest French onion soup ever. Everybody who try's it loves it. Chef John is one of my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by otctroy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Excellent french onion soup! Not too heavy nor too salty, as some restaurant versions are. I didn't have sherry handy, so used what I had - red wine vinegar & brandy. Still turned out fantastic! Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
First, this review is to educate those cooks who eliminate wine from recipes because they do not drink...... The alcohol in the wine evaporates as the soup cooks, leaving only the essence of the grapes from which it was made. White vinegar sounds gross as a substitute. I use that in Chinese Hot and Sour Soup, (for the sour). Please try this with the suggested ingredients. It will be delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Floridafoodie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
This was fabulous!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
This was simple and delicious! Adding to my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
My husband absolutely loves french onion soup and he thought this recipe was delicious!! Chef John, you've done it again!! Thanks! I didn't change a single ingredient (which is rare for me, I'm adventurous in the kitchen, but I know a winner when I see it and I don't mess with it!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

American French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup with a few delicious American twists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States