Easy French Onion Soup for Guests Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
I did not care for this recipe. Granted we don't drink so I substituted water instead of sherry and white vinegar instead of sherry vinegar. Probably a cardinal sin but still the base flavor was not pleasant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This is a very good recipe. However, make sure to remove the bay leaf and thyme sprigs. The French use wine often to flavor their food. I think it's silly to omit wine in a recipe simply because you "don't drink". The wine is not to get you drunk. It is an ingredient necessary to achieve the desired flavor in a dish. So to the previous reviewer, I don't think you should give one star when you obviously did not use the wine, which would have made a huge difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Culpeper, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
I learned how to make this from Vincent Price's cookbook. It is a long and intermediate recipe. Chef John's recipe here gets the flavor w/o all the fuss. This is an excellent and simple version. The alcohol cooks off and the sherry flavor combines perfectly with the cheese and onions. It is a warming aromatic blend of flavor, which makes it perfect for winter evenings when you know you are "in for the night-all snuggy and warm".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
This was fabulous!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Didn't like the flavour at all. When I've had French Onion soup in France the onions were cooked more quickly until they took on a darkish brown colour. This recipe "stews" them and allows the sugar to come out of the onions making it, to me, sickly sweet. Sorry, but not to my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
French Onion Soup is my son's favorite and he liked this the best! Very easy to make and flavorful. I love the splash of dry sherry and sherry vinegar. As Chef John suggested in his video recipe to purchase the real Gruyere cheese (which I did) and that adds a layer of pure culinary sophistication. Allow it to simmer long and slow. A wonderful meal on a cold day or anytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
My family loved this. Was a little sweet , won't use vidilia onions next. My fault.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Excellent french onion soup! Not too heavy nor too salty, as some restaurant versions are. I didn't have sherry handy, so used what I had - red wine vinegar & brandy. Still turned out fantastic! Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
This was simple and delicious! Adding to my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
The easiest French onion soup ever. Everybody who try's it loves it. Chef John is one of my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by otctroy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States