Easy Four Cheese Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
This is a simple and easy to follow recipe. However, it is impossible to make a lasagna that big with only one can of pasta sauce. Definitely use two! I used low-fat ricotta instead of cottage cheese and didn't mix it into the sauce. Add onions/vegetables/spices for extra texture/flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
Very tasty and super easy!! I modified the recipe a bit by getting the "oven ready" lasagna that doesn't need pre-boiling. I added an extra 1/2 cup water to the sauce to make sure the noodle cooked correctly, then set it on 425, put a double-wrap of tight foil, and baked it for 60 minutes. After baking, allow it to sit still wrapped in foil for an additional 10 minutes. Overall prep time is almost the same, but less pots and pans to wash!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by William Bumphrey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochelle, Illinois, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
I gave this five stars because it was pretty inexpensive and very easy to make. I used cottage cheese as the recipe called for, but it did make the sauce a little sweeter than I prefer. I also used two jars of pasta sauce as other reviewers said there wasn't enough sauce using one jar, and I was glad I used two. I also did not blend the cottage cheese with the pasta sauce since I like the chunkier sauces and the sauce I used had vegetables in it. Overall it made a fine meal and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
Just a quick note for those of you looking to save a step and some time! I have been making lasagna for years, one of my favorite dishes, and I have NEVER cooked the lasagna noodles- I always just use them raw. If you layer the lasagna as stated in this recipe (or any other) with noodles, meat sauce, cheese of choice and again, the noodles will come out perfect every time. The juices from the tomato sauce actually cook the noodles, and this is a huge time saver (and one less pot to wash). Trust me, just try it! I then bake the lasagna covered with foil for 50 minutes, uncover and top with cheese, then bake for an additional 10 minutes to melt the cheese on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
Really easy to make, although I seemed to run out of sauce at the end. I used ricotta instead of cottage cheese, mostly just because I had never heard of using cottage cheese. Very very good, the cheddar adds a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2003
This was very easy lasagna to make. I would suggest using a little more sauce, and I would also put a layer of sauce on top of the last layer of pasta, otherwise the layers of pasta and cheese dry out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2001
amazing lasagna, perfect for vegetarians, but i'm not vegetarian and i still loved it! i added sliced mushrooms to the recipe and used ricotta cheese in place of cottage cheese (much much better, more authentic). i also added monterey jack cheese and doubled the mozzarella. yum!!! NOT for the lactose intolerant...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2002
Fantastic! My fiance called it "brilliant." I was in a hurry and messed it up -- I forgot to add the sauce in the layers so it was only on the bottom and the top, and it was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JELLYKELLY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2002
This is very easy and very good. It was a great recipe for my first try at lasagna. My husband loves it. I doctored up the store boughten sauce with oregano, fresh basil leaves, and three cloves of minced garlic in a blender. It adds a little kick to the dish, makes it more interesting. I also found that using the cook-it yourself lasagna noodles was better than the pre-cooked lasagna noodles. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
This lasagna is really easy !!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Lasagna II

This top-rated recipe is lasagna made simple.

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Creamy Chicken Lasagna

Chicken and cream cheese star in this deliciously unique lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States