Easy Focaccia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
This recipe was awesome. It was so good we did not wait for dinner and ate it straight away at 4pm. I read all the reviews first and I put 1 tsp each of garlic powder, thyme, oregano, marjoram, sage and 1 Tbs of fresh basil as I had no dried. I used a plasic container and put all the herbs, and flour in it. I used 2 cups plain flour and 1 cup Wholemeal flour. In a small metal bowl I had put 7g dried yeast and warm water, salt and sugar and covered with clingwrap for about 10mins. I then added to flour mixture and used a bread hook with mixer. This recipe was just like it said it would be. It had a beautiful crust on the outside and soft on the inside. I can't belive that I made this, thanks James and everyone else for reviews
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
This was a pretty good recipe. I followed the recipe as written since this was my first time making bread. I'm a big foccacia fan and this recipe was fairly tasty. The only reason I didn't give it a 5 is because nothing compares to the foccacia bread served at Ryan's in Honolulu. Will definitely make the recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasco, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
This recipe was awesome! I've never made focaccia, and this turned out perfect and delicous... I even scaled the recipe down to 2/3 and it came out great, which sometimes doesn't happen with yeast-dough recipes. Because I was craving a cheesey-oniony fix, I decided to go a different route with the seasonings than the recipe called for, but I can tell that if I had just followed it exactly, the bread would have been great, too. What I did first with spicing the dough up was add two thinly sliced garlic cloves and a heavy pinch of each of rosemary, thyme, basil and oregano into the "well", after the yeast had activated, then mixed as per the directions. Then when it was time shape the dough and poke the holes, I I topped the round with sauteed onion slices, a generous sprinkling of emmental cheese and a bit of dried basil for color. I followed the rest of the recipes directions and the bread was simply to die for! My husband and I had some with spaghetti, but I wound up finishing the whole round up all by myself the next day... it was just so good. And, I think the pan of water in the oven was the ticket to duplicating restaurant-style focaccia perfection! Thanks for sharing this super easy and very versatile recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centralia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lappeenranta, Etelä-Karjala, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
This was yummy and very easy! It would also be wonderful with garlic and melted butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
Really delicious! I used cheddar cheese instead of parmesan as I didn't have any. It rose might more than I was expecting, but that wasn't a problem. We ate most of it standing around the cooling rack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
This turned out so good. Everyone enjoyed this. It was nice and airy and turned out perfectly. Thanks for the recipe. Will be making this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April N.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
The texture of this bread came out perfect! I think I might have used the wrong cheese though (I used parm. reggiano) because the taste was a little too pungent for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
Fantastic! Added parmesan and rosemary to the dough and sprinkled some garlic powder on top. This recipe is a REAL LIVE KEEPER!! Divine! Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
its great and i will make it again!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
I didn’t have cake flour and had to use 3 cups of all-purpose flour – I don’t know if this makes a big difference? And I used a good ol' plastic bowl and an electric mixer. I also mixed, as suggested by many, 2 teaspoons Italian Seasoning into the dough and added some salt to the rosemary and Parmesan cheese topping. However – the dough didn’t rise very well either time (even with the hot water pan) but while the Focaccia was baking it sure did. The bread came out a little bit too high for my taste which didn’t give it the typical texture and makes it – as others comment – a bit bland. The flatter edges were just perfect and very tasty, though. My guests gobbled it down in no time so I will definitely make this again, this time I will probably roll the dough thinner than the suggested 1/2 inch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caljane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cologne, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Living In: Devils Tower, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Focaccia

See how to make a light Italian yeast bread with delightful dimples.

Focaccia Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy flatbread flavored with garlic and herbs.

Focaccia di Recco (Italian Flatbread)

See how to make an amazing cheese-filled Italian flatbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States