Easy Flat Iron Steak in Wine Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Easy easy! I would say one thing the salt was bordering on too much so be careful there. The only thing I added was shallots to the pan with the mushrooms just because I love shallots in sauces. I also didn't have dried mustard so I used Grey Poupon. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
The sauce was pretty good - I did add a bunch of garlic to it, and I think it would have been bland otherwise. I was also pleasantly surprised by the flatiron steak, which is a cut I hadn't tried before. However, the rub burned on the pan which resulted in really unpleasant gritty burned bits in the sauce. I think high heat is a bit much - if I cook this again I'll try medium high and see if I can avoid the burned bits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lugoff, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
This turned out really well both times I have made this recipe. I added a little balsamic vinegar to the wine sauce before cooking and it was amazing. The second time my guests really enjoyed this too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
I do not have a lot of experience making steak and so I was nervous. But oh, goodness! I made it exactly according to the recipe and it came out perfect. The marinade was tasty and the steak was very tender. Not dry or chewy at all. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judie Holtz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie Benitez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
The marinade for this steak was delicious, but the meat could have been a bit more tender. I think I will follow another reviewer's advice next time and leave the steaks in a marinade for a few hours before cooking. Not enough sauce for my taste either so maybe some broth added to the mix next time too. Still, very tasty and worth adding to the line-up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
This was very good. The steak was very tender and flavorful. I made it the first time without the mushrooms but tonight I'm making it with...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
everyone liked
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
Took advice from Aja and omitted the garlic powder and added minced garlic, onions and 1/4 cup of beef broth. Would suggested adding more portobello mushrooms as they do shrink during the cooking process. Excellent dish and will definitely make again. BTW, I used a Malbec for the red wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
It is awesome!! never cooked skirt steak before but after I tried this recipe i couldn't believe how tender it came out!!!Added onions with the mushrooms for the flavor and it was great!!better than sirloin and so much more tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Clark Gombar

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marsala Marinated Skirt Steak

See how to make grilled skirt steaks marinated with slightly sweet Marsala wine.

Mean Mr. Mustard Steak

Grainy mustard and steak seasoning add tangy goodness to seared steaks.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States