Easy Fish Tacos with Mango-Pineapple Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
These are amazing. I fried my fish and used a recipe from Rhiannon "Fish Batter with Newcaslte Brown Ale". You could use any kind of white fish, I had fresh croppie. I also added a red, yellow, and orange pepper that were diced to give the slaw more crunch...turned out great! The sweetness of the batter and the tang of the slaw went great together. These were the hit of our pool party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Winner Winner Chicken Dinner

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellbrook, Ohio, USA
Living In: Wheelersburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2014
This had WAY too much salt, pepper and Vinegar in it - fortunately I cut down the pepper, eliminated the salt because cod and tortilla's have enough salt in them, but unfortunately I didn't cut down the vinegar. It was ruined and way too acidic because of it, even on the mango and pineapple, which could have been nice. I also eliminated the jalapeno pepper because we don't like hot stuff. Also, in my opinion, a fish tortilla needs tomato to taste good. My cod came out great, but we threw away the sauce. Maybe with changes, a teaspoon of pepper, no salt, and a teaspoon or 2 or vinegar, it would have been good. What a shame.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hazel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hackensack, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
The only reason I can think of that the fish tacos I made didn't turn out too good was because of too much pepper. If I was to try this again, I would do much less pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Thanks for the recipe! It's just delicious! I used tilapia instead of cod, but no other changes otherwise. This will be a favorite in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
The fish tacos were very delicious. My boyfriend and I made this twice, and we just love it! Thank you for sharing your recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
was delicious. a little spicy for my taste so next will probably use a smaller jalapeno. Also the top was a little too runny for my taste. I can't stand it when my bread gets soggy, so will either use less vinegar or strain the topping before use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
This was so good!!! I didn't add the mango or pineapple to the slaw, but I will in the future. I could just eat the slaw by itself. I really enjoyed this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
This recipe needs help! I didn't add jalapeno or onions because I am not a spicy fan. Next time I would use 2 mangos, 1-3 TBS. vinegar or fresh lime juice, greek yogurt in lieu of mayo, and keep everything else the same. If you skip out on cilantro FRESH pineapple and mango it will drastically change the flavor profile and not be as good! As far as the fish, my cod always turns out rubbery, so we shredded it, but I would use Tilapia or Flounder or another white fish instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ericksonpad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
The slaw was fantastic! I make this recipe a lot and everyone I have made this for loved it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Way, way, way too much salt and pepper. If I make again, those two ingredients will be dramatically decreased. Fish came out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fish Tacos

See how to make 5-star San Diego-style fish tacos.

Baja Fish Tacos

See how to make marinated fish tacos on the grill.

Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle Lime Dressing

Tilapia filets turn into tasty fish tacos with a tangy adobo and lime dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States