Easy Enchilada Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
This was pretty tasty, even though I found out by reading other reviews that I had made a mistake! I didn't top it off with tortillas, only the cheese, and didn't realize it was supposed to be covered. So, I baked it, uncovered, for 40 minutes and let it sit for 5 minutes, and I think it turned out pretty good! I think the fact that it turned out good and not soupy like others have mentioned, is because I didn't cover it in the first place! LOL. I like the addition of the cream of chicken soup/sour cream base. I also sauteed fresh chicken strips with a little olive oil, cumin, and chili powder since the recipe doesn't exactly say what to do with the chicken. I think I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
This was a great recipe. Kind of like Mexican lasagna. I made the following changes based upon the previous reviews: 1. cut chicken breasts up into bite size pieces, then saute in a little olive oil, with some cumin and chili pepper (yum, this was a surprise) 2. cooked casserole entire time uncovered 3. added half can black beans to chickent mixture-very pretty and liked the texture 4. substituted corn chips for middle layer of tortillas-not sure if this mattered. 5. went low fat on soup and sour cream. This was a great "comfort" food recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sunset Hills, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
Fantastic recipe!Super easy to make and it tastes great! It was a big hit with my family. I did make a few changes,I shredded my chicken after boiling it. I used 2 cups of salsa instead of 3 and added one can of black beans(drained) to the salsa. I also added the green chiles to the sour cream, soup and chicken mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
This is an awesome recipe. I tore my tortillas into pieces for easy serving. Used a regular onion that I cooked with my chicken. Hot salsa and added chilli powder and cumin. Great to make a few days ahead when you know your going to be busy. Thanks !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
We had this casserole for dinner tonight and were very pleasantly surprised! It was better than anything we've had at our local Mexican restaurants. I added a can of corn, a can of black beans and a small can of green enchilada sauce when assembling the casserole. Then, in addition to the suggested garnish of sour cream and black olives, we sprinkled fresh cilantro on top. Extremely flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2001
Tasty and Easy. I added about a cup of black beans to the chicken mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlwaysCookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2001
My family loved this recipe. The only bad thing is the recipe wasn't finished, it was like somone forgot to type in the rest of the sentence, and I am new to this cooking thing, so I had no idea what I was suppose to do with the chicken breast halves until after making the casserole. But it tasted great anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2001
This didn't look very pretty, but it had a very good taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Loved the recipe. 2nd time making it I changed the following. I reduced the salsa to 1 1/2 c and added 1 can of enchilada sauce. Instead of using all flour tortillas I substituted about 1 1/2 cups of crushed corn chips for the middle layer --which added a nice flavour. I also did not cover the dish while baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bancroft, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
This is a great dish to prepare for family or company! I have also made it by putting a portion of the diced chicken/sour cream/green onioins/soup, green chilies/cheese mixture into the center of 8-10 flour tortillas, rolling them up, and placing them in a Pam-sprayed blong pyrex casserole dish. I put the remaing mixture over the top and cover it all with more cheese. Bake, as directed (uncovered) and serve with the salsa as your garnish. This way, each person knows where the servings are divided and has his/her own enchilada. My family loves these! We also serve them with homemade guacamole. (2-3 fresh, ripe avacados mashed; 1-2 T. lemon juice; 1 small chopped onion; 1 t. salt, and 1 dollop sour cream. Mix until smooth and serve with tortilla chips.) YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NanaLynda
Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States