Easy Eggplant Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
This is a fantastic summer recipe for your garden goodies. There were a few things I did differently. I did not precook the squash or eggplant. I used red pepper flakes instead of green chilies. I also added two eggs and mixed in the cheddar and mozzarella cheeses. I baked the casserole for 45 minutes at 350. Came out delicious! Even my non-veggie lover husband liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I found this recipe very disappointing. I followed all directions and it came out undercooked and tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
I went to the farmer's market yesterday and could not resisi picking up a couple of BEAUTIFUL eggplants that were there. They had been picked that morning and just as pretty as they could be. I got home and decided that I wanted to turn one of them into something new. Something I had never made before. Here it is, the perfect recipe! I had also picked up some yellow squash and some unbelieveable zuchinni, well, because I just HAD to! They were at their VERY best and you just DON'T walk away from stuff like that! :-) When I read in this recipe that yellow squash was also an ingredient needed, I HAD to make this! I was also making something else from this site which required me to roast my veggies in the oven, so I simply did the same to these beautiful ingredients. The result from that alone was AMAZING, but once I put the rest of the dish together, it was INCREDIBLE. The freshness of the eggplant and squash perfectly roasted was undeniable. The rest of the ingredients brought the entire thing into a lovely dish that I am sure won't be around long enough for me to have to put away tonight. It's ridiculious how good this really is :-) Nice job! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
OK...rating this recipe as described......doesn't taste like anything. If I was to use any more salt my husband would have to change his blood pressure medicine. I think that if I make it again I would add more cheese and definately mix it up with some spices so that it tasted like something other than boiled veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Douglas, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
We thought it was pretty bland, I usually read the reviews, but this time I didnt. The reviews are very helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
This was an excellent recipe idea. I sauteed my veggies - didn't have time to boil. I used home made bread crumbs - made from croutons I had made previously...so my bread crumbs did have traces of olive oil in them. I also used these on top instead of the crackers. I added 1/3 cup water to the baking pan about halfway through (at the edge - not to mess up the topping). This is a great recipe - because I can add whatever spices I want!!!!! This was excellent! Thanks a bunch!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ms. Pierre
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Initially I was a bit skeptical about this dish--eggplants?!, not a big fan--but I decided to give it a try since I already had the other ingredients on hand. What I did--took this idea from another poster-- was saute everything (eggplants, squash, onions, bell peppers, and garlic). I did NOT add chiles--can't eat spicy foods :(. I made sure to season everything after sauteing for about 10min. on low. Then I poured everything into a baking dish and added mozzarella and sharp cheddar cheese on toped with bread crumbs. I used seasoned breadcrumbs; and baked for about 20mins. This dish is YUMMY and its healthy as well. Hubby approved; so its a winner in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
I was kind of skeptical about this dish because it called for boiling the veggies. It turned out great and I also think it could make a great Turkey stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
This was very good.....I "doctored" it a bit....seasoned crumbs are a must and I added a little parmesan cheese, cayenne and black pepper....a little drizzle of bunner over the top didn't hurt either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenland, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
This is easily turned from nutrient-deficient into a healthy, hearty casserole!! Saute the eggplant, onion and squash in a couple tbsp of olive oil with fresh garlic, salt and pepper. Don't skin the squash, all the phytonutrients are in there! Bake topped with whole wheat panko mixed with fresh parmesan and parsley. Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Easy Broccoli Salad

Watch Chef John make an easy, healthy broccoli side dish.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States