Easy Eggplant Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
This was an excellent recipe idea. I sauteed my veggies - didn't have time to boil. I used home made bread crumbs - made from croutons I had made previously...so my bread crumbs did have traces of olive oil in them. I also used these on top instead of the crackers. I added 1/3 cup water to the baking pan about halfway through (at the edge - not to mess up the topping). This is a great recipe - because I can add whatever spices I want!!!!! This was excellent! Thanks a bunch!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2006
I made this recipe and I loved it. I did however make a few changes just because thats what I had in the pantry. I used Italian breadcrumbs and a soy cheese instead and the recipe reminded me of a healthier stuffing. Definently worth a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
I went to the farmer's market yesterday and could not resisi picking up a couple of BEAUTIFUL eggplants that were there. They had been picked that morning and just as pretty as they could be. I got home and decided that I wanted to turn one of them into something new. Something I had never made before. Here it is, the perfect recipe! I had also picked up some yellow squash and some unbelieveable zuchinni, well, because I just HAD to! They were at their VERY best and you just DON'T walk away from stuff like that! :-) When I read in this recipe that yellow squash was also an ingredient needed, I HAD to make this! I was also making something else from this site which required me to roast my veggies in the oven, so I simply did the same to these beautiful ingredients. The result from that alone was AMAZING, but once I put the rest of the dish together, it was INCREDIBLE. The freshness of the eggplant and squash perfectly roasted was undeniable. The rest of the ingredients brought the entire thing into a lovely dish that I am sure won't be around long enough for me to have to put away tonight. It's ridiculious how good this really is :-) Nice job! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Ms. Pierre
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Initially I was a bit skeptical about this dish--eggplants?!, not a big fan--but I decided to give it a try since I already had the other ingredients on hand. What I did--took this idea from another poster-- was saute everything (eggplants, squash, onions, bell peppers, and garlic). I did NOT add chiles--can't eat spicy foods :(. I made sure to season everything after sauteing for about 10min. on low. Then I poured everything into a baking dish and added mozzarella and sharp cheddar cheese on toped with bread crumbs. I used seasoned breadcrumbs; and baked for about 20mins. This dish is YUMMY and its healthy as well. Hubby approved; so its a winner in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
This is a fantastic summer recipe for your garden goodies. There were a few things I did differently. I did not precook the squash or eggplant. I used red pepper flakes instead of green chilies. I also added two eggs and mixed in the cheddar and mozzarella cheeses. I baked the casserole for 45 minutes at 350. Came out delicious! Even my non-veggie lover husband liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
GREAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
I don't even like eggplant and I loved how this turned out! The boyf loved it too. I went with some of the reviewers and amended it a little: added cayenne pepper to the bread crumbs (not sure how much, just dumped a good bit in there), used zucchini instead of yellow squash (and didn't peel it), and instead of boiling the squash and eggplant I sauteed them with the onions and some garlic, along with pepper and some other seasonings. I only had one small eggplant so it didn't look like enough stuff - so I threw in one chopped raw red bell pepper, tossed it all up with the green chilis and put the crackers and cheese on top. Topped it off with a few sprinkles of paprika and baked it. The cayenne gave it a nice kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
This was a delicious combination and could be made using various veggies. I Added a chopped red pepper that needing using and microwaved the veggies to tender crisp to keep in more vitamins. Was out of breadcrumbs so used half a bag of seasoned cornbread stuffing, and didn't use the crackers on top. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I changed it a bit - I didn't peel the squash & used a 3oz can of chopped green chilis - used one cup of club crackers crumbs total - 3/4 in mix & 1/4 on top w/ cheese. Used 1/2 cup of shredded cheese and 2 tbs of parmesan on top w crackers crumbs. Loved it. k
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
I was kind of skeptical about this dish because it called for boiling the veggies. It turned out great and I also think it could make a great Turkey stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Easy Broccoli Salad

Watch Chef John make an easy, healthy broccoli side dish.

How to Make Grilled Eggplant Salad

Enjoy exotic northern African flavors in this grilled eggplant and pepper salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States