Easy Eggplant Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2001
I made this dish for my VERY picky in-laws and they loved it. I ended up modifying the recipe and I think that helped make it so good. I used italian bread crumbs instead of plain ones and I also mixed a 1/2 teaspoon of cyanne pepper with the breadcrums for a little more spice. Also, I added 2 teaspoons of minced galic and I chopped up 2 red bell peppers to add another flavor. It was great and I was requested to make it again for Christmas dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2002
I was in an eggplant mood and wanted to do something different than the usual. I tried this recipe but I was disappointed. Cooks would have better luck substituting brocolli or spinach for the eggplant. The minute I read "boil" the eggplant, I had doubts. But that is just me; I love this quirky vegtable but it must be either panfried or oven baked at high temperature. This recipe is not a total failure, it smells good and looks inviting all brown and crunchy on top- I just prefer my eggplant anything but boiled. Thank you anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZ5

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
This dish went was gone before it hit the table. I did some changes though. Did not skin the squash,added fresh chilies to boiling water ( instead of canned), and mixed the cheese into the dish, topped with bread crumbs. I did not quite feed six of my family but I think that's because it was so good. The best recipe gives you the basics to have fun with ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
I don't even like eggplant and I loved how this turned out! The boyf loved it too. I went with some of the reviewers and amended it a little: added cayenne pepper to the bread crumbs (not sure how much, just dumped a good bit in there), used zucchini instead of yellow squash (and didn't peel it), and instead of boiling the squash and eggplant I sauteed them with the onions and some garlic, along with pepper and some other seasonings. I only had one small eggplant so it didn't look like enough stuff - so I threw in one chopped raw red bell pepper, tossed it all up with the green chilis and put the crackers and cheese on top. Topped it off with a few sprinkles of paprika and baked it. The cayenne gave it a nice kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2002
I was pleased with this recipe's ingredients, however found it to be bland. I would maybe add flavored bread crumbs to the mixture, along with garlic powder, salt and pepper. But, overall, enjoyed the dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2002
I didn't have bread crumbs and chilies, so I used crushed melba toast and tomatoes, basil and oregano. The end result was delicious..and I would not have ever thought of it without the base recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
I also use Italian bread crumbs, jalapenos instead of chilies and put in some roasted peppers along with Italian seasoning and chopped garlic. The reason I liked it was because it is like stuffing but better for you. I well make the again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
very bland- instead of bread crumbs , I used crushed up Pepperidge Farm Stuffing and added more chili's than recommended, yet it was still very bland- good combination, but not very tasty..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
It was good, but not enough flavor even though I had added garlic and onion powder. We had to add salt after baking. Perhaps the veggies should be cooked in vegetable broth instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
GREAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Easy Broccoli Salad

Watch Chef John make an easy, healthy broccoli side dish.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States