Easy Eggplant Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
I sauted my eggplant and squash with the onions and added some seasonings then once I mixed everything up it looked pretty dry so I added a can of chedder cheese soup then topped with the crackers and chesse. It was yummy. My husband's parents and grandparents were over for lunch and everyone enjoyed it, even my 2 nieces (8 & 6) and my daughter (5)! Will def make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
I don't even like eggplant and I loved how this turned out! The boyf loved it too. I went with some of the reviewers and amended it a little: added cayenne pepper to the bread crumbs (not sure how much, just dumped a good bit in there), used zucchini instead of yellow squash (and didn't peel it), and instead of boiling the squash and eggplant I sauteed them with the onions and some garlic, along with pepper and some other seasonings. I only had one small eggplant so it didn't look like enough stuff - so I threw in one chopped raw red bell pepper, tossed it all up with the green chilis and put the crackers and cheese on top. Topped it off with a few sprinkles of paprika and baked it. The cayenne gave it a nice kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
I'm sorry to give a bad review, but this really wasn't a good dish. I followed the recipe exactly, except I didn't use crackers in the topping. The eggplant/squash/bread crumb mixture was bland and soggy. Sorry, this just wasn't very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
We made ours with fresh Hatch green chilies, crushed Vegetable flavored crackers, and cheddar cheese instead of mozzarella sprinkled with French's Fried Onions on top. Yummy! My husband requested this dish on Thanksgiving instead of green bean casserole. I gave it 4 stars because I changed alot of the ingredients and don't know what it's supposed to really taste like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, New York, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
This was a delicious combination and could be made using various veggies. I Added a chopped red pepper that needing using and microwaved the veggies to tender crisp to keep in more vitamins. Was out of breadcrumbs so used half a bag of seasoned cornbread stuffing, and didn't use the crackers on top. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
This was okay. I enjoyed it, but my boyfriend did not. Make sure to cook the eggplant the same day you buy it. I will try again and not use as much bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Laura G

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
Made this recipe following exact instructions and was very dry. Would not make this again. I should have known when many reviews referred to the recipe as a dry stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
This dish went was gone before it hit the table. I did some changes though. Did not skin the squash,added fresh chilies to boiling water ( instead of canned), and mixed the cheese into the dish, topped with bread crumbs. I did not quite feed six of my family but I think that's because it was so good. The best recipe gives you the basics to have fun with ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
It was good, but not enough flavor even though I had added garlic and onion powder. We had to add salt after baking. Perhaps the veggies should be cooked in vegetable broth instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
GREAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Easy Broccoli Salad

Watch Chef John make an easy, healthy broccoli side dish.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States