Easy Eggplant Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
I'm sorry to give a bad review, but this really wasn't a good dish. I followed the recipe exactly, except I didn't use crackers in the topping. The eggplant/squash/bread crumb mixture was bland and soggy. Sorry, this just wasn't very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
We made ours with fresh Hatch green chilies, crushed Vegetable flavored crackers, and cheddar cheese instead of mozzarella sprinkled with French's Fried Onions on top. Yummy! My husband requested this dish on Thanksgiving instead of green bean casserole. I gave it 4 stars because I changed alot of the ingredients and don't know what it's supposed to really taste like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, New York, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
This was a delicious combination and could be made using various veggies. I Added a chopped red pepper that needing using and microwaved the veggies to tender crisp to keep in more vitamins. Was out of breadcrumbs so used half a bag of seasoned cornbread stuffing, and didn't use the crackers on top. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
This was okay. I enjoyed it, but my boyfriend did not. Make sure to cook the eggplant the same day you buy it. I will try again and not use as much bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Laura G

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
Made this recipe following exact instructions and was very dry. Would not make this again. I should have known when many reviews referred to the recipe as a dry stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
This dish went was gone before it hit the table. I did some changes though. Did not skin the squash,added fresh chilies to boiling water ( instead of canned), and mixed the cheese into the dish, topped with bread crumbs. I did not quite feed six of my family but I think that's because it was so good. The best recipe gives you the basics to have fun with ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
It was good, but not enough flavor even though I had added garlic and onion powder. We had to add salt after baking. Perhaps the veggies should be cooked in vegetable broth instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
GREAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
I used stuffing mix after seeing several other reviews. I thought it was a good recipe. Definitely a nice change from the typical eggplant recipes you see. I will probably add other vegetables in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
I also use Italian bread crumbs, jalapenos instead of chilies and put in some roasted peppers along with Italian seasoning and chopped garlic. The reason I liked it was because it is like stuffing but better for you. I well make the again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Easy Broccoli Salad

Watch Chef John make an easy, healthy broccoli side dish.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States