Easy Eggnog Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
This was a little bland. I used fat free half and half and used a light eggnog. Could be why it was bland and definetly not as rich. I liked it much better after I added 1/4 teaspoon of rum extract and more nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
This stuff was amazing! Wish I had used an instant custard mix instead of the instant pudding mix though (for the flavor). The ice cream turned out creamy, flavorful and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Too bad I didn't have this eggnog ice cream FOR Christmas rather than after Christmas! It would have been just perfect for a quick dessert with a couple of Christmas cookies! This was wonderful. I'm fairly experienced with making ice cream so in looking over the recipe I knew it would need to be tinkered with a little. First, for my liking anyway, there's too high a ratio of milk and eggnog to cream which I knew could make this a little icy or grainy - in any event not as smooth and silky as I prefer - so I used a ratio of half eggnog and half heavy cream. I also like a rich, custard-style ice cream so I added a couple of eggs. Finally, no extra sugar was used other than what was in the eggnog, nor was there any vanilla. I knew it would turn out kind of flat, so I added some of each. So...scaling this down to 6 servings to fit my ice cream maker, I used 1-1/2 cups eggnog, 1-1/2 cups heavy cream and 1 tsp. vanilla, which I whisked into 2 eggs beaten with 1/3 cup sugar for 1-2 minutes. As written this really is only a 3-star recipe for the reasons I outlined but I don't want to discourage anyone from trying it because with just a little tweaking this was a delightful, rich, frozen eggnog custard!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by ChefReigns
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Outstanding flavor and easy to make can't beat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefReigns

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I hate it when I read a review and they say I love the recipe but made all these changes...... but that is exactly what I'm doing. I followed the advice of the previous reviewer and made the following changes 1-1/2 cups eggnog 1-1/2 cups heavy cream 1 tsp. vanilla 1 tsp. fresh grated nutmeg the previous reviewer said that this way it would not have the ice crystal consistency and they were right! making it this way it was VERY smooth and absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This was ok. I followed the recipe to a T and added chocolate chips at the end of freezing. It was ok, but it was pretty bland. I wish I had read the first review listed and added some vanilla, eggs, and sugar to give this more pizazz. It wasn't bad and we'll eat the whole serving for sure, but it could've been better. This was my first time making ice cream in my new ice cream maker so I'm still learning and experimenting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PRINCESSHOAGIE

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: South Charleston, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
This recipe is NOT good. Its way too bland, because there's not enough sugar. My whole family could only eat one bitet. So I started over and made allrecipes' "No-Cook Eggnog Ice Cream" instead and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleynicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Way too bland and got crystallized since there's no alcohol in the recipe. It needs at least the alcohol in a teaspoon of vanilla extract! I made a second batch with a tablespoon of bourbon and a swirl of crushed graham crackers, and it was much improved. Certainly an easy ice cream recipe, but pretty disappointing as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cardamum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
this recipe is one of the worst we have ever tried. We not only followed the recipe to the letter and found that version very bland and without any distinct egg nog flavor since the egg nog was diluted by an equal amount of unflavored milk/cream. Even when we vamped it up with sugar, and with egg nog flavoring and 3X Madagascar Pure Vanilla it was inferior. This recipe needs to come off this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
The flavor of the icecream depends on the quality of the egg nog. I used some that was made at the dairy creamery that also makes ice cream. It was left over because I forgot we had it. I did not add anything to it...and it is awesome. I added some bananas to another quart and that also turned out very well. Smooth creamy...and very flavorful. I suspect I could add almost anything and the result would be fine---as in real ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Snow Ice Cream II

Mother Nature helps make this frozen old-timey treat.

How to Make Pumpkin Ice Cream

Learn tricks for making perfect homemade pumpkin ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States